Senate Approval: GEJ Nominates ICPC Chairman, Others… INEC RECs Too

Listen to article

Abuja, July 28, (THEWILL) - President Goodluck Jonathan has forwarded names of nominees for confirmation as Resident Electoral Commissioners (REC).

He also urged the Senate to consider Mr. Francis Ugochukwu Elechi as Chairman of the Independent Corrupt Practices and other related Offences Commission even as he forwarded five names for confirmation as members of the Commission.

This comes as the Senate yesterday commenced a 32 day recess. They are expected to resume plenary on Monday September 12, 2011.

In a letter addressed to the Senate President, Jonathan while urging the senate to confirm the RECs said it was in consonance with the provision of section 14 (3) (a) of the third schedule to the constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended.

The nominees for confirmation include: Sylvester Okey Ezeani (Anambra), Prof. Mohammed Taib’u (Jigawa), Dr. Lawrence Azubuike (Imo), Sam Olugbadebo Olumekun (Ondo), Prof. Istifanus Ishaku Dafwang (Plateau), Mrs. Gesila khan (Bayelsa), Mr. Samuel Madaki (Taraba), Dr. Gabriel Ada (Cross River).

While others on the list are fresh appointees, the Cross River State nominee, Dr Gabriel is being reappointed.

“It is my hope that the distinguished Senate of the federal republic will consider and confirm the nominees in your usual expeditious manner,” Jonathan wrote.

In a separate letter to the senate president, Jonathan asked the Senate to confirm the appointments of Alhaji Abdullahi Ado Bayero (North West), Alhaji Isa Ozi Salami (North Central), Ekpo Una Owo Nta (South South), Professor Olu Aina (South West), and Onum-Nwariaku (South East) into the ICPC. While four of the appointees are fresh, Dame Julie (South East) is being re-appointed.

He however reminded the Senate that Mr. Francis Ugochukwu Elechi had earlier been forwarded for confirmation as Chairman of the Commission, noting that it is my hope that the chairmanship nominee will be considered along with the above listed five nominees.

Urging the Senate to confirm the appointment of the nominees into the ICPC, Jonathan said, “Section 3(3) of the Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offences Act 2000 provides that the Independent Corrupt Practices and other Related Offences Commission shall consist of a chairman and 12 other (twelve) other members, two of whom shall come from each of the six geopolitical zones. In this connection, there are vacancies in the composition of the commission.

“I have therefore, in the exercise of the powers conferred on me by section 3 (6) of the Corrupt Practices and Other Related Act, 2000, decided to appoint the following members of the Independent Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offences Commission,” the President stated.