TheNigerianVoice Online Radio Center

Bayern Munich Win 8th Consecutive  Bundesliga Title 

By Ibrahim Taiwo, The Nigerian Voice Sports
Listen to article

Bayern Munich defeated Werder Bremen 1-0 to win their eighth successive Bundesliga title.

The Bavarians needed a victory to confirm their champions status and they deservedly got the maximum points courtesy of a goal from Robert Lewandoski.

Bayern Munich lead their rivals, Dortmund, by ten points with two games to spare to wrap up a routine title.

Alphonso Davies was sent off for two bookable offences late in the second half but the champions elect held on to earn a deserved victory.

Lewandoski has scored in nine of his past ten matches for Bayern Munich, he has enjoyed a prolific season scoring 31 goals in the Bundesliga.

Bayern Munich have now won the Bundesliga for the 30th time in their history.

They are on course to win a treble after booking a place in the German Cup final and a healthy first-leg advantage over Chelsea in the Uefa Champions League second round tie.