Jonathan Decorates Obasanjo, Buhari, IBB, Abacha, Abdulsalami, Zik, Balewa, Others With Centenary Awards


Abuja – President Goodluck Jonathan on Friday decorated seven living

former Nigerian Heads of State and Presidents with the centenary awards.

The centenary anniversary awards night and dinner, during which 100

recipients were decorated, was held at the banquet hall of the

Presidential Villa.
The decorated leaders are Yakubu Gowon, Chief Olusegun Obasanjo, Alhaji

Shehu Shagari and Gen. Muhammadu Buhari.
Others are Gen. Ibrahim Babangida, Chief Ernest Shonekan and Gen.

Abdusalami Abubakar.
Six late Nigerian Heads of State were honoured post-humously.

The recipients of the post-humous award are Dr Nnamdi Azikiwe, Alhaji

Tafawa Balewa, Gen. Aguiyi Ironsi, Gen. Murtala Mohammed, Gen. Sani Abacha

and Alhaji Musa Yar'Adua.
Also in the category is the presumed winner of the June 1993 general

election, late Chief Moshood Abiola.
The President decorated the representatives of the late leaders among whom

is Mrs Maryam Abacha.
Also the centenary awards are in 13 categories with winners both living

and dead.
The first are those who have contributed to the making of Nigeria and

they include Queen Elizabeth II of England, Lord Fredrick Lugard and his

wife, Lady Lugard,
The second category is the Heroes of the Struggle for independence/Pioneer

political leaders which include Azikiwe, Balewa, Macaulay and Chief

Obafemi Awolowo.
Others in the category are Sir Ahmadu Bello, Prof Eyo Ita, Jaja Nwachukwu,

Pa Michael Imoudu, Chief Anthony Enahoro and Chief Joseph Tarka.

The rest are Malam Aminu Kano, Mrs Margaret Ekpo, Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti

and Hajia Gambo Sawaba.
The third category is the Pioneers in professional Callings/careers which

include the first indigenous lawyer, Chief Sapara Williams, and the first

indigenous Solicitor, Chief Rotimi Williams.
The categories also include the first indigenous Chartered Accountant,

Chief Akintola Williams, and the first indigenous Inspector General of

Police, Louis Edet, and the first indigenous medical doctor, Prof. Eyitayo

Also in the categories are the first female Vice Chancelor of Nigerian

universities, Prof. Grace Alele-Williams, and the first indigenous female

pilot,.Capt. Chinyere Kalu.
Others include Akinwale Wey, Gen. George, Gen. Aguiyi Ironsi,

Tamunoiyowunam, Gen. Abdullahi Mohammed, Prof. Kenneth Dike, and Gen.

Oviemo Ovadje.
The fourth category is Pioneer in Commerce and Industry, which has Louis

Odumegwu Ojukwu, Alh. Alhassan Dantata and Chief Adeola Odutola.

Awardees under Pioneer of Democratic Transition in Nigeria are Shagari,

late Abiola, late Gen. Shehu Yar'Adua and Abdusalami Abubakar.

The sixth category is the Heroes in Global Sports Competitions which are

Chioma Ajunwa, Nwankwo Kanu, Richard Ihetu, Chief Michael Okpala (Power

Mike) and Monday Emoghavwe.
The seventh category is Accomplished Pioneer Public Servants and the

awardees include Chief Olabode Wey, Justice Udo Udoma, Chief Emeka

Anyaoku and Sir Adetokubo Ademola.
Others are Dr Olawale Elias, Dr Rilwan Lukman, Alhaji Ibrahim Dasuki and

Alh. Aliyu Mai-Borno.
The awardess under category eight, which are the Accomplished Temporary

Entrepreneurs, are Alhaji Aliko Dangote, Chief Mike Adenuga and Dr

innocent Chukwuma.
The ninth category is Distinguished Academics and the recipients include

Profs. Benjamin Osuntokun, . Kelsey Harrison, Chike Obi, Dagogo Fubara,

Ade Ajayi, Claude Ake, Babatunde Fafunwa, Godwin Abasi and Umaru Shehu.

The 10th category is International Acclaimed Artists, Literary Icons and

Journalists and the recipients include Chief Michael Akinwumi, Profs. Wole

Soyinka, Chinua Achebe and John Pepper Clark.
The recipients also include Mr Cyprian Ekwensi, Alhaji Abubakar Imam, Mr

Daniel Fagunwa, Ernest Ikoli, Alhaji Babatunde Jose and Kenneth Nnebue.

The category also has Olu Jacobs, Patience Ozokwor, Shata Katsina, Herbert

Ogunde, Fela Anikulapo-Kuti, Osita Osadebe and Dr Ladi Kwali.

Others are Benedict Enwonwu, Alhaji Maitama Sule, Prof. Akin Mabogunje, Dr

Barnabas Oloruntoba and the Chief Justice of Nigeria, Maryam Mukhtar.

The 11th category is Outstanding Bravery and Public Spiritedness and the

beneficiaries are Chief Gani Fawehinmi and Michael Ihuka,.

The 12th category is Outstanding Promoters of Unity, Patriotism and

National development and in the category are former Heads of State and

The recipients are Gowon, late Gen. Murtala Mohammed, Obasanjo, Buhari,

Babangida, Shonekan, Gen. Sani Abacha, Alhaji Umaru Yar'Adua, and Gen.

Theophilus Danjuma.
The last category is Exemplary Service in the Promotion of Peace and Moral

Excellence and the recipients are Sir Abubakar Sadiq, Sheikh Abubakar

Gumi, Michael Tansi, Pastor Enoch Adeboye and Sheikh Usman Bauchi.(NAN)