By NBF News
Listen to article

In what appears like a u-turn, Ogun State Government yesterday announced the return of two secondary schools in the state to their original owners.

The schools are Adeola Odutola College, Ijebu-Ode and Ebenezer Grammar School, Iberekodo-Abeokuta.

The state Commissioner for Education, Science and Technology, Mr. John Olusegun Odubela made the disclosure after a meeting with Christian missions and other proprietors of returned schools in the state.

In a swift reaction, members of the Joint Christian Missions and other proprietors of returned schools said they had not in any way consented to the new policy of government.

In a press statement signed by Most Revd Alfred Adewale Martins on behalf of the Catholic Church; Rev. Samuel Ogundeji on behalf of the Anglican Church, the stakeholders described government's position as diversionary and a failed attempt to create divide and rule among the mission Churches and proprietors.

Others who signed the statement were Ms. Corin Solarin of the Mayflower School, Ikenne, Prof. Akin Mabogunje on behalf of Adeola Odutola College, Ijebu-Ode and several others. The stakeholders, who stated that they opposed the new policy of government, added that since the matter was already in court, the new policy was contemptuous of the court.

The missions urged the state Governor, Senator Ibikunle Amosun to respect the rule of law and obey a court injunction restraining the state government and its agents from acting on the matter until an order of the court. The group warned Amosun to avoid triggering any chaos or unrest by attempting to force their students into the returned schools.

The state government under the administration of Otunba Gbenga Daniel announced the take-over of 33 schools. Odubela, while making the announcement, said the decision of the state government to return the schools was based on the consideration that their proprietors must have invested huge sum of money on them. He also hinted that the second category of schools to be returned to their owners would be within the next two years to enable the state government relocate students who had earlier been admitted into them.

However, the state government announced complete take over of yet-to-be-named nine secondary schools in the state. The schools that fall into the secondary category include the famous Mayflower School, Ikenne, Anglican Girls Grammar School, Ijebu-Ode, Catholic Comprehensive High School, Abeokuta, Anglican Grammar School, Ota.

Others include Macjob Grammar School, Abeokuta; Methodist Comprehensive College, Sagamu; Methodist Comprehensive High School, Ago-Iwoye; Anglican High School, Abeokuta; Anglican Grammar School, Ifo; Anglican Grammar School, Ilaro. among several others.