TheNigerianVoice Online Radio Center

17 Ministers Sworn-in; SGF To Assign Portfolios; Okonjo-Iweala Absent

Source: THEWILL. -
Click for Full Image Size
Listen to article

ABUJA, July 08, (THEWILL) – President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan Friday swore-in 17 federal Ministers of the 18 approved this week by the Senate, saying he would deliver a full address to them on Monday, the same day he said the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Senator Anyim Pius Anyim will assign them portfolios.

The Managing Director of the World Bank, Dr (Mrs.) Okonjo-Iweala, who has been tipped to emerge finance minister, was the only nominee absent at the ceremony which held inside the Council Chambers of the Presidential Villa.

Presidency sources told THEWILL that she was in Washington DC to formally sign off from the World Bank before returning to Abuja to take the Oath of Office and resume at the Ministry of Finance.

President Jonathan however congratulated the Ministers, who were sworn-in in 3 batches for their appointments and wished them well.

Those inaugurated include: Professor Barth Nnaji, Professor Ita Okon Bassey Ewa, Comrade Abba Moro, Ms. Oloye Olajumoke Akinjide, Dr. Samuel Ioraer Ortom, Dr. Bello Haliru Mohammed, Dr. Yerima Lawan Ngama, Arch. Mike Onolememen, Hajia Zainab Ibrahim Kuchi, Sen. Idris Umar, Prof. Mrs. Viola Onwuliri, Mr. Olusegun Aganga, Bolaji Abdullahi, Ambassador Olugbenga Ashiru, Erelu Olusola Obada, Alhaji Bukar Tijani and Ambassador Bashir Yuguda.