Code Of Conduct Bureau Tribunal Chairman Dies, Nnaemeka-Agu Too

Source: THEWILL. -
Listen to article

SAN FRANCISCO, Jan 26, (THEWILL) – The Chairman of the Code of Conduct Tribunal, Justice Murtala Adebayo Sanni has died.

As at press time, THEWILL was unable to ascertain the cause of death, but a source said he died on January 24, 2011 and has been buried in his home state of Kwara.

The late Justice Sanni became Chairman of the tribunal after former Chairman, Justice Constance Momoh retired in 2010.

THEWILL has also gathered that former Supreme Court Justice, Justice Phillip Nnaemeka-Agu has also passed on.

Atiku Laments Death

Former Vice President Atiku Abubakar has described the death of the respected justices as major losses not only to the country’s judiciary but also Nigeria at large.

In a statement in Abuja issued by his Media Office, the former Vice President noted that their contributions to the nation’s legal system will outlive them for years to come.

According to the former Vice President, the two judicial officers would always be remembered for their enviable record of untainted integrity.

Describing the two departed men as integral branches of the nation’s judicial tree, Atiku said the country would greatly miss their honest and patriotic contributions to Nigeria’s legal system.

While praying God to grant them eternal rest, the former Vice President also wished the families of the deceased the fortitude to bear the losses of their loved ones.