Airtel Honours Employees with Long Service Awards

By Emmanuel Otokhine
Listen to article

• As GSM Revolution hits 10 in Nigeria

January 21, 2011; Lagos, Nigeria: As the Nigerian mobile industry race towards the tenth anniversary of telecom revolution in the continent's largest market, the pioneer GSM operator in the country, Airtel Nigeria has rewarded its loyalty and hard work of staff who have spent up to a decade with the organization.

30 employees were honoured with 10 Years Long Service Award at a brief but colourful ceremony held at the Eko Hotel & Suites in Lagos recently. Airtel Nigeria, then known as Econet Wireless Nigeria, had pioneered GSM service in Nigeria when it launched its operation on August 5, 2001.

The event became emotional as the awardees stepped out for recognition amid applause from their colleagues, who were moved by the management's gesture aimed at boosting the morale of the long-serving pioneer employees and the rest of the workforce.

Speaking at the event, the Chief Executive Officer/Managing Director of Airtel Nigeria, Rajan Swaroop, commended the dedication and resilience of the awardees especially in the light of the several management changes which have occurred in the organisation.

He assured them that the company will not only recognize and reward loyal staff but also partner them on a more personal basis to ensure that they succeed in all their endeavours.

“This is a special moment for all of us at Airtel as we celebrate the loyalty and dedication of our colleagues who have spent up to a decade with us. It is, indeed, noteworthy as the Nigeria telecommunications industry will be celebrating 10 years of great accomplishment come August 2011. I salute our colleagues and urge all of us here to emulate their fine, self-sacrificing spirit,” said Swaroop.

The staff who received the Airtel Long Service Awards include: Samsondeen Abiodun Bello, Olajumoke Ajoke Adeola, Oluwagbamila Oyekanmi, Akinwale Steven Awosokanre, Anthony O Iweanya, Mukaila Kunle Oladipo, Charles Oky Diei, Olamide C Olatunji, Ogochukwu Amaefunah, Patience Olutayo, Jane Obinwa and Vivienne Sopitan.

Others were Olabisi Moyosore Abel-Ajala, Ayobanji Gregory Fatuade, Uduak Ekong, Adebisi Olubusola Jacobson, Adenike Dorcas Ayeye, Ololade Adekunle, Emmanuel Okoro, Ayoola Olufunmi Ekisola, Ayinde Adejumoke Ajibola, Emmanuel Orakwue Ogoazi, Harriett Owofini Omiyi, Rubi Uyas Ibanga-Okon, Michael Olufemi Enitan, Orji Kalu, Lynda O Muibi, Barnabas Kelechi Onyehuruchianya, Augustine I Iguza and Olufolami Adeaga.

The award recipients were honoured in the presence of top Airtel officials including the Manoj Kohli, Chief Executive Officer/Joint Managing Director, Airtel International; Inder Walia, Group Chief Human Resources Officer, Bharti Airtel; Rajan Swaroop, Chief Executive Officer & Managing Director, Airtel Nigeria, and Deepak Srivastava, Chief Operating Officer & Executive Director, Airtel Nigeria.