TheNigerianVoice Online Radio Center


By NBF News
Listen to article

Governor Kayode Fayemi of Ekiti State, yesterday inaugurated new Caretaker chairmen for the 16 local government areas in the state to replace the dissolved council chairmen. They were sworn in at 5.00 pm at JIbowu Hall, Government House, Ado-Ekiti.

The newly appointed council bosses are: Ado Local Government, Sunday Ibitoye,    Irepodun/Ifelodun, Kayode Ojo,  Gboyin, Femi Awe,  Efon, Chief Joel Omoniyi  Ijero, J.O. Atibioke, Oye, Akindele Ogungbuyi, Ekiti West, Sola Fakanle, Ikere, Olugbenga Omole, Ikole, Chief Biodun Akin-Fasae,, Ido/Osi, Elder Ben Fatope, Moba, J.B. Adaramola, Ekiti East, Chief Wale Akinlabi, Emure, Muyiwa Abegunde,  Ise/Orun, Femi Ajayi, Ilejemeje, Kehinde Babatola and Ekiti South West, Dr. Azeez Olaniyan.

Each committee has seven members. .
In a related development, Fayemi appointed Mr. Adewale Adeoye as his Senior Special Assistant (SSA) on Public Affairs. Adeoye was until his appointment Deputy Editor (Sunday) of The Nation Newspapers.

Meanwhile, crisis is brewing in the House over the selection of Gbenga Odebunmi as replacement for the late Deputy Speaker, Saliu Adeoti, among others.

The lawmakers who are members of the Peoples Democratic Party alleged that the appointment of new Deputy Speaker was done unilaterally by 13 members of the House who are members of the Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN).

Adeoti represented Moba Constituency 1 on the platform of ACN before his demise three weeks ago.

The ACN lawmakers were also alleged to have unilaterally approved the appointment of six Special Advisers on the request of Governor Kayode Fayemi as well as the caretaker committee chairmen and members.

The 13 PDP members led by the Speaker, Hon. Tunji Odeyemi said the actions were executed while they were away attending a meeting convened by the President, Dr Goodluck Jonathan, to discuss the future of the party in the state

The Leader of Government Business in the Assembly, Lai Oke, told newsmen on phone that they (PDP members) would return to Ado Ekiti and hold a plenary session to discuss the turn of events

Oke maintained that 2/3 majority of the 26-member were required by law for the ratification of the appointment of the caretaker committees, Special Advisers and the election of the Deputy Speaker

He described the actions as illegal and a nullity in the face of law, adding that the Rule of Law mantra of the ACN only remains in the realm of noise-making

A motion moved by Hon Funminiyi Afuye, who is the Leader of the ACN in the Assembly and seconded by Hon Samuel Adewale produced Hon Abiola Olowokere as the Speaker Pro-tempore, who thereby paved the way for the election of the Deputy Speaker. He then stepped down for Odebunmi to preside over the session