FCT Sets Up Committee To Implement Report Of Ministerial Land Committee

Source: EWACHE AJEFU, ABUJA BUREAU CHIEF - thewillnigeria.com

ABUJA, July 26, (THEWILL) - The FCT Administration has set up an 11-Man Implementation Committee of the Report of the Ministerial Committee on the Repositioning of Land Administration in the Federal Capital Territory.

FCT Minister, Senator Bala Abdulkadir Mohammed who inaugurated the Committee today in Abuja said that the re-instatement of the diplomatic plots which was part of the report had already been implemented immediately after the Federal Executive Council meeting that gave the approval.

Senator Mohammed charged the members to put the interest of the nation first as they embark on the all important task of implementing the report that would strengthen the entire institution of land management in the Federal Capital Territory.

The Minister who was represented at the occasion by the FCT Permanent Secretary, Dr. Goke Adegoroye (OON) enjoined members to find better ways of computerizing and networking of the Departments of Urban & Regional Planning; Mapping & Survey and Land Administration without affecting their smooth operation and services to the general public.

He announced that the Abuja Geographic information Systems (AGIS) would be stripped of functions of land Administration as well as Land related Departments and be repositioned to serve as service agency to land Administration.

The Minister revealed that the FCT Administration will introduce e-payment system that will allow for direct payment to the collecting banks while payment details be made available online real time for use of AGIS and the Finance department.

According to him, the FCT Administration will soon establish an executive standing committee of all heads of the users department and AGIS to resolve areas of overlaps.

"This Committee is expected to drive the change process to its logical conclusion by drawing up an implementation schedule, monitor progress and report back", he added.

The Minister disclosed that the FCT Legal Secretariat will soon design land acquisition transaction guidelines which will also lead to the commencement of registration of land agents willing to do business with the FCT Administration.

Senator Mohammed remarked that the FCT Administration will also set up project teams to start the process of generating Certificates of Occupancy (C of O) for Area Councils plots.

Responding on behalf of the Committee, the Chairman, Mr. Dele Odesanmi expressed appreciation for the confidence reposed in them.

Mr. Odesanmi stated that "Nigerians would have to sit down to solve their problems as nobody will come to do it for us".

He commended the Minister for having the foresight to commence the rebirth and change process.

It would be recalled that the FCT Minister, Senator Bala Abdulkadir Mohammed on Tuesday April 27, 2010 inaugurated a 12-Member Ministerial Investigation Committee on Lands Administration in the Federal Capital Territory with the following members Senator Sa’idu Dansadau-Chairman; Ms. Jumai Kwanashe- Secretary; while members were Engr. Gambo Umar, Mr. Toachi Ucheadu, Princesses Stella Aduah Ogiemwonyi, Mrs. Helen Oloja, Barrister Osita Abalowa, Mr. Dan Kunle, Alhaji Lawal Mijinyawa, Mr. Peter Okolo, Alhaji Sabo Ago and Mr. Dele Odesanmi.

It would also be recalled that on Friday June 4, 2010 the Dansadau Committee submitted its reports with far reaching recommendations which this committee is expected to implement.

The members of the Committee on the Implementation of the Report of the Ministerial Committee on Repositioning of Land Administration in the FCT is be chaired by Mr. Dele Odesanmi and Mrs. Fadoju Monisola Caroline will serve as Secretary; while members are Engr. Gambo Umar,; Ibrahim Usman Jibrin; Abubakar Suleiman; Onwukwu Okeagu; Helen Oloja; Fikpabu Ikibeh; Evans Bapakaye Bidi and Umar Ibrahim.