President Buhari Nominates All Immediate Past Service Chiefs As Non-career Ambassadors-designate.

By The Nigerian Voice
Listen to article

President Muhammadu Buhari has forwarded the names of the immediate past Service Chiefs to the Senate as non-career Ambassadors-Designate.

In a letter to Senator Ahmad Ibrahim Lawan, President of the Senate, the President said: “In accordance with section 171 (1), (2) (c) & sub-section (4) of 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended, I have the honour to forward for confirmation by the Senate, the under-listed five (5) names of nominees as Non-Career Ambassadors-Designate.”

The nominees are: Gen Abayomi G. Olonisakin (Rtd ), Lt Gen Tukur Y. Buratai (Rtd), Vice Admiral Ibok-Ete Ibas (Rtd), Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar (Rtd), and Air Vice Marshal Mohammed S. Usman (Rtd).

The President urged the Senate to give expeditious consideration to the nominations.

Buhari had on January 26 succumbed to public pressure to dispense with his service chiefs, who have overstayed their tenure for several years.

They resigned their appointments and retired.
The new Service Chiefs appointed are: Major-General Leo Irabor, Chief of Defence Staff; Major-General I. Attahiru, Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral A.Z Gambo, Chief of Naval Staff; and Air-Vice Marshal I.O Amao, Chief of Air Staff.

Buhari had thanked the old Service Chiefs for what he called their “overwhelming achievements in our efforts at bringing enduring peace to our dear country.”

He also wished them well in their future endeavours.

With the appointment of new service chiefs, Buhari appeared to have responded to the strident call by Nigerians, asking him to change the heads of the security agencies and service chiefs.