By NBF News

In a fresh bid to stop the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in 2011, 17 opposition parties have come together in Abuja to form an all encompassing political alliance with the major objective of capturing the presidency from the ruling PDP.

The alliance under the aegis of Coalition for New Nigeria (CNN) rose from its maiden meeting recently and demanded that President Goodluck Jonathan withdraw the nominations of new Residents Electoral Commissioners (RECs) of the

Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) who are card-carrying members of the PDP or other political parties.

The interim Chairman of CNN and National Chairman, Progressive Action Congress (PAC), Chief Charles Nwodo, who briefed newsmen at the end of the meeting, said members of the alliance shared the common idea of seeking a legitimate and positive change in the present political dispensation in the country.

Said he: 'One of our major objectives is to wrest power from the PDP. We are disturbed that as a nation about to celebrate its 50th anniversary of independence, bad leadership has bedevilled the country. It is unfortunate that we are in precarious position in our nationhood.'

Although he declined to reveal the members of the new alliance, Daily Sun however gathered that, members of the mega party of the Mega Summit Movement (MSM) were involved. He, however, said that more political parties were expected and would be unveiled in about a fortnight.

On Prof Attahiru Jega's nomination as INEC chairman, he said,Chief Nwodo explained that his belief that with Prof. Jega's appointment, it was possible to conduct a free and fair election and on schedule. 'We believe he will not allow himself to be used,' he added.

Other members of the alliance are National Conscience Party (NCP), Nigeria Advance Party (NAP), Peoples Mandate Party (PMP), Labour Party (LP), African Democratic Congress (ADC), Congress for Progressive Change (CPC), Movement for Democracy and Justice (MDJ), Peoples Redemption Party (PRP), All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), Democratic Peoples Alliance (DPA), New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP), Peoples Progressive Party (PPP), Republican Party of Nigeria (RPN), Justice Party (JP), United National Party for Development (UNPD).