Two universities in the United Kingdom have expressed their readiness to go into partnership with the University of Agriculture, Abeokuta, Ogun State, on research and academic development.

A statement signed by UNAAB's Head, Public Relations, Mr. Lasun somoye, after the collaborative meeting among officials of the three institutions, stated that the two universities, University of Leeds and University of Nottingham expressed readiness to collaborate with the Nigerian institution on research and mathematics.

Somoye stated that at the meeting with officials of UNAAB, Prof. H. G. Dales of the University of Leeds and his counterpart from the University of Nottingham, Dr. Joel Feinstein, discussed possible areas of collaboration mathematics and research programmes for undergraduate and postgraduate students.

According to Somoye, the affiliation with the UK universities will enable UNAAB undergraduates on a four-year programme to spend three years at UNAAB and the final year at the British universities.

Dales, however, pointed out that students would be expected to spend two years in Leeds, in accordance with its academic curriculum.

He assured that successful students under the scheme would obtain a UK degree certificate or a joint degree certificate, depending on the agreement reached by both universities.

For the one-year M.Sc. programme, Dales said applicants must possess a first class or at least a strong second class upper degree to be qualified for admission.

The UK delegates introduced the London Mathematical Society, which he claimed supports well-designed and low cost scheme for interested members of staff intending to conduct research work.

Dales said the LMS would cater for transport and accommodation allowances with some stipend to sustain researchers for about two months.

The UNAAB's Deputy Vice-Chancellor, (Development) Prof. Segun Lagoke, who represented his boss, promised that the university would consider the proposals towards determining appropriate collaboration that would be beneficial to the entire university community.