Fg Inaugurates New Committee On National Honours

Source: thewillnigeria.com

SAN FRANCISCO, April 20 (THEWILL) – The Federal Government has inaugurated the newly reconstituted Committee on National Honours Award with former Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Alfa Belgore, as the Chairman of the newly inaugurated committee.

Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Babachir David Lawal, while inaugurating the committee on Wednesday, in Abuja, reminded members of the Committee, that the national award is designed to recognise and honour citizens and friends of Nigeria who have distinguished themselves in their various endeavours and contributed immensely to the development of the nation.

He added that the recognition is also intended to serve as motivation for all Nigerians to emulate the exemplary conduct and services of those being honoured and inspire them for such national recognition.

The SGF reiterated that for the National Award to retain the prestige that it is accorded, recipients who conduct themselves in any dishonourable manner will be stripped of the national honour.

This, he stressed, will be consistent with the stand of the present administration against all forms of corruption. He assured that the combined investiture ceremony for the 2015 and 2016 National Honours Award will be held this year.

Belgore, speaking on behalf of the Committee, expressed the appreciation of all members of the Committee for the honour of appointing them and pledged that the committee will not disappoint the nation.

He said Nigeria is a great country and that bestowing honour on any Nigerian in any grade must be acknowledged as a great national achievement. He promised that the committee will strive at all times to select the best for the National Honours.

The full membership of the reconstituted Committee is as follows:

(i) Hon. Justice Mohammed Alfa Belgore (Rtd), GCON -​​Chairman

(ii) Hon. Justice Umaru Kalgo (Rtd), CFR​​​-​Member

(iii) Hon. Justice Isaac Aluyi (Rtd)​​​​-​Member
(iiii) Mrs. Bola Ogunriade, MNI​​​​​-​Member
(v) Nnema Josephine Ndukwu​​​​​-​Member
(vi) Amb. Usman Gaji Galtimari, CON​​​​-​Member
(vii) Chief Bassey Edem, MFR​​​​​-​Member
(viii) Engineer Gabriel Afu​​​​​-​Member
(ix) Ambassador Nonye Udo​​​​​-​Member
(x) Mr. M. F. Abikoye​​​​​​-​Member
(xi) Mr. Y. M. Bichi​​​​​​-​Member
(xii) Mrs. Rasheedat Okoduwa, MNI​​​​-​Member
(xiii) Mr. James A. Ibidapo​​​​​-​Member
(xiiii) Mr. Gabriel Loto​​​​​​-​Secretary.
Story by David Oputah