TheNigerianVoice Online Radio Center

Delta: Okowa Nominates 8 More Commissioners

Listen to article

BEVERLY HILLS, August 23, (THEWILL) – Delta State Governor, Dr. Ifeanyi Okowa has sent the names of eight more nominees to the Delta State House of Assembly for approval as commissioners in the state executive cabinet.

The governor's letter, which was sent to the Speaker of the House of Assembly on Sunday (today), urged the House to screen and confirm the nominees.

THEWILL gathered that the nominees include: Mr. Mofe Pirah from Warri South West, Mr. Chika Osai from Ndokwa East, Mr. Dan Okenyi representing Aniocha North, and a barely literate Asupah Forteta, who had previously served as Chairman of Burutu LGA.

Also on the list is Mr. David Edebvie (Ughelli North), a former governorship aspirant and Commissioner for Finance under the administration of Chief James Ibori. THEWILL gathered he would be assigned the Finance portfolio.

Others are: Mr. Henry Sakpara representing Udu Local Government Area, Mr. Jude Sinebe (Patani LGA), the son of a former State Chairman of the PDP, Pius Sinebe and Mr. Patrick Ukah from Oshimili North.

Mr. Okowa had previously appointed 12 commissioners and assigned them portfolios.