TheNigerianVoice Online Radio Center

Bolivia Withdraw From Nigeria Friendly Match

Listen to article

Bolivia have cancelled a friendly with Nigeria, scheduled for 26 March in Uyo, because of security fears.

Bolivian Football Federation president Carlos Chavez said: “Armed conflict and the tense political situation in Nigeria forced our withdrawal.”

Nigerian officials said they were bemused by the decision, claiming they had put everything in place to ensure a hitch-free game.

It means goalkeeper Vinent Enyeama may have to wait for his 100th cap.

The 32-year-old was expected to reach the landmark against Bolivia, having been named in a 28-man squad selected by Super Eagles caretaker coach Daniel Amokachi.

Now his achievement will be delayed until Nigeria's friendly against South Africa on Sunday 29 March unless the Nigeria Football Federation can find a replacement for the South Americans.

In-form duo Brown Ideye and Anthony Ujah are also in Amokachi's squad, earning recalls after being overlooked for last year's World Cup in Brazil.

Fresh call ups include Aalesund defender Akeem Latifu, Watford striker Odion Ighalo and Moses Simon from Belgian club Gent with Stoke City's Victor Moses placed on standby.

Nigeria squad:
Goalkeepers: Vincent Enyeama (Lille OSC, France); Theophilus Afelokhai (Kano Pillars); Chidiebere Eze (Ifeanyi Ubah United)

Defenders: Chima Akas (Sharks FC); Godfrey Oboabona (Rizespor FC, Turkey); Azubuike Egwuekwe (Warri Wolves); Nelson Ogbonnaya (Heartland FC); Kenneth Omeruo (Middlesbrough FC, England); Akeem Latifu (Aalesunds FC, Norway); Leon Balogun (Darmstadt 98, Germany)

Midfielders: Ogenyi Onazi (SS Lazio, Italy); Steven Ukoh (Biel-Bienne FC, Switzerland); Sone Aluko (Hull City, England); Hope Akpan (Reading FC, England); John Ogu (Hapoel Be'er Sheva, Israel); Michael Babatunde (Volyn Lutsk, Ukraine); Joseph Nathaniel (Sharks FC); Kingsley Sokari (Enyimba FC)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Aaron Samuel (Guangzhou R&F, China); Brown Ideye (West Brom, England); Odion Ighalo (Watford FC, England); Anthony Ujah (FC Cologne, Germany); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Ubong Moses (Kano Pillars); Stanley Dimgba (Warri Wolves); Mfon Udoh (Enyimba FC); Standby – Victor Moses (Stoke City, England)