Yoruba People Will Support President Jonathan Reelection - Adeyeye

By Prince Dayo Adeyeye Movement

The Minister of State for Works, Prince Adedayo Adeyeye has expressed confidence that President Goodluck Jonathan will secure maximum support from the Southwest States during the 2015 presidential election.

Adeyeye said the President had done creditably well for the Yoruba people to deserve their support.

In a release issued on Sunday, and made available to journalists in Ado-Ekiti, the minister described reaction to the 'Yoruba Progress Summit' held in Ile-Ife by a group claiming to be Afenifere as a fraud, saying; "any group claiming to speak for the Yorubas apart from the Afenifere, headed by Chief Reuben Fashoranti is a fraud."

Adeyeye said the presence of top Yoruba sons and daughters, including traditional rulers in the summit was indicative of the desire of people of the Southwest States to move away from sectional politics.

"Each time I read in the papers that Yoruba people are in support of the opposition party, I ask myself, who are these Yorubas?

"Is that Lagos based sole-proprietor of the All Progressive Congress (APC) the mouthpiece of the Yoruba nation?

"As far as I know, President Jonathan is getting overwhelming votes from the Southwest States.

"This year alone, the federal government approved N1.4 billion Special Intervention Fund to transform the tertiary institutions in Oyo State. N500 million was devoted to the University Teaching Hospital, N500 million for the Polytechnic of Ibadan and N400 million for the University of Ibadan.

"Our roads, especially the Lagos-Ibadan expressway are being reconstructed.

"Lekki Deep Seaport is being done in collaboration with the Lagos State Government. When completed, the port would relieve the pressure on the Apapa and Tin-Can Island ports and would also support business activities at the Lekki Free Trade Zone.

"One can go on and on, but the reality is that, what President Jonathan has done in the Southwest in the last four years surpass what was done between 1999 and 2010," the minister said.