Controversy Trails Abia PDP Assembly Primaries As Over 7 Members Lose Re-Election Bids


Controversy has trailed the PDP House of Assembly primaries in Abia state

as over 7 sitting members of the House failed to secure tickets which

would enable them fly the flag of the party at the February 28 State

Assembly election.
In the 24 member legislature, out of the 16 members that sought

re-election, only 9 emerged candidates of the party from their different

constituencies. Those who won include Deputy Speaker, Asiforo Okere( Ukwa

East); Tony Nwaubani (Ukwa West); Blessing Nwagba (Aba North); Kate

Maduako (Aba Central); Nkemdirim Iheasinmuo (Aba South); Emeka Alozie

(Osisioma Ngwa South); Martin Azubuike (Isiala Ngwa North); Emeka Ejiogu

(Umuahia North) and John Ogele (Isuikwuato)
Those who lost are the Chief Whip, Ikechukwu Nwabeke (Osisioma Ngwa

North); Princewill Onuoha (Obingwa East); Emeka Osoagbaka (Ikwuano); Mba

Ukaha(Ohafia South); Ikedi Ezekwesiri (Umunneochi); Chidi Nwosu (Umuahia

South). The Leader of the House, Chidiebere Nwoke who was seeking a fourth

term withdrew at the morning of the primaries through repeated

announcement on the state radio.
The remaining members who did not seek re-election are the Speaker, Rt.

Hon. Ude Oko Chukwu, (Ohafia North); Grace Uche, (Umuahia Central), Uche

Nwankpa (Obingwa West) and Ndukwu Ojukwu (Bende North); while the Deputy

Leader, Princewill Onyegbu (Bende South); Humphery Azubuike (Ugwunagbo);

Darlington Nwokocha (Isiala Ngwa South) and former speaker, Agwu U.Agwu

(Arochukwu) are seeking tickets for the House of Representatives to

represent Bende, Obingwa/ Osisioma Ngwa/ Ugwunagbo, Isiala Ngwa North/

Isiala Ngwa South and Arochukwu/ Ohafia federal constituencies,

respectively. gathered that power play characterized the election in

most constituencies leading to majority of the lawmakers kissing the dust.

In Osisioma Ngwa council area, some of the stakeholders including the

state deputy chairman of the party, Chief Allen Nwachukwu was said to have

resisted the third term ambition of Dr. Ikechukwu Nwabeke, who remains one

of the most vibrant legislators ever produced in the state. In Obingwa

East state constituency, it was a bitter experience for Princewill Onuoha

whose third term ambition fell like a pack of cards as he lost woefully to

a former member of the House, Solomon Akpulonu.
Sources hint that Onuoha was the architect of his own misfortune as he is

said to have abandoned the camp of his benefactor and two time deputy

governor of the state, Chief Eric Acho Nwakanma. The sources added that

with a strong candidate like Akpulonu, a former member of the House known

for his political wizardry, Onuoha stood no chance without the former

deputy governor's support when all the stakeholders in the constituency

were falling over themselves to back Akpulonu's return. Nwakanma who is a

PDP governorship aspirant is said to be annoyed with Onuoha for abandoning

his camp for that of his rivals.
The same power play also affected Hon. Emeka Osoagbaka, a first term

member representing Ikwuano state constituency as he was said not to be in

good books of the stakeholders in the area including the PDP National Vice

Chairman South East, Col. Austin Akobundu who withdrew their support for

In Umuahia South state constituency, Hon. Chidi Nwosu's attempt to enjoy a

third tenure also crashed as he failed to get the support of stakeholders

like the former PDP national chairman, Chief Vincent Ogbulafor. It is no

surprise that he lost to the former TC chairman of the council, Jerry

One of Nwosu's constituents who gave his name as Lucky said the former was

openly pleading with the stakeholders and delegates to support him because

he was sure of emerging Speaker of the House in 2015 but the people

rejected him because according to them, he could not be trusted. In

Umunneochi constituency, Ikedi Ezekwesiri was alleged to have lost as a

result of his poor relationship with his constituents.

Another factor which played a determining role in the election was the

issue of rotation of political offices among the electoral wards of the 24

constituencies of the state. Sitting members like Mba Ukaha, House Leader,

Chidiebere Nwoke, and Chief Whip, Dr. Ikechukwu Nwabeke were said to have

lost as some stakeholders insisted that they must give way to others to

have a share of the national cake.
Out of the 9 returnees, Deputy Speaker, Asiforo Okere (Ukwa East) appears

to be a cat with nine lives as nobody gave him a chance against the fierce

onslaught of the former senate president, Chief Adolf Wabara, ASOPADEC

chairman, Chief Emeka Stanley, among other chieftains of the party who

were said to have vowed that he won't get a fourth stint at the House.

Among those who resigned state government appointments to run for the

elections, former Information and Strategy Commissioner, Eze Chikamnayo

who contested the Umunneochi state constituency seat could not get the

support of his people while former Chief of Staff, Government House, Chief

Cosmas Ndukwe was returned as the PDP candidate for Bende North state

For now, there have been jubilations in the camps of the successful

candidates while those who could not make it lament their fate even as

majority of them continue to allege that they were schemed out of the

The post Controversy Trails Abia PDP Assembly Primaries As Over 7 Members Lose Re-Election Bids appeared first on Pointblank News .