INEC Extends Continuous Voter Registration In 12 States


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Monday extended the Phase II of the Continuous Voter Registration (CVR) for seven days in 12 states.

The extension, according to the commission's daily bulletin in Abuja, begins from Monday to Sept. 28.

It noted that the exercise was taking place at the local government areas of the affected states from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. daily.

The affected states are Anambra, Bauchi, Cross River, Delta, Ebonyi, FCT, Jigawa, Kwara, Ondo, Oyo, Sokoto and Yobe.

'The extension of Phase II of the exercise is occasioned by the large turnout of eligible voters and the heavy rains that coincided with the exercise which took place from Aug. 20 to 25,'' it added.

The commission, however, advised eligible voters in the affected states to take advantage of the extension to register, to enable them to vote in the 2015 general elections.