TheNigerianVoice Online Radio Center

APC sweeps Kano LG poll… PDP kicks

By The Citizen
Click for Full Image Size
Listen to article

Kano State Inde­pendent Elector­al Commission (KANSIEC) has declared the All Progressives Congress (APC) winner of last Saturday's local govern­ment council elections in the state.

According to a press statement signed by the Chairman of the Commis­sion, Dr. Sani Lawal, the APC won in all chairman­ship seats in the 44 local government councils in the state.

The party also won all the 484 councillorship po­sitions in the state, accord­ing to the commission.

Lawal thanked the state government, security agents, the 19 parties that took part in the election and the media for their support, saying the suc­cess witnessed during the exercise was a collective one.

However, the Peoples Democratic Party  (PDP) led by the former governor of Kano State, Mallam Ibrahim Shek­arau, has described the exercise as the biggest democratic fraud in his­tory, urging right-thinking Nigerians to dissociate themselves from the re­sults of the exercise.

Shekarau, who ad­dressed the media in his home in Kano, implored the national leadership of the APC to immediately disassociate itself from the alleged mockery of democracy that was con­ducted in Kano under its name, saying the poll was a big disgrace to a party like theirs, which aspired to the leadership of Ni­geria.

He vowed that the Peo­ples Democratic Party (PDP) would contest the results of the local gov­ernment election once the tribunal was estab­lished for that purpose and appealed to those responsible for setting up of the tribunal to quickly inaugurate the body.

He alleged that sev­eral irregularities marred the exercise, noting that KANSIEC breached the electoral laws severally.

The alleged irregu­larities, he stated,  in­cluded the absence of voting materials in most places, the non-conduct of any form of elections in several quarters, non-display of voters' register and the list of candidates before the election and the deployment of lo­cal government educa­tion secretaries and APC card-carrying members as electoral officials.