Cross River Governor swears-in 18 females as LG bosses

By The Citizen

The Cross River State Governor, Liyel Imoke, on Monday swore in 18 females as council chairmen and vice-chairmen in 17 local government areas of the state.

Imoke swore in 15 females as vice-chairmen for 15 local councils and three as chairmen; while the rest were men.

Imoke at the swearing-in ceremony said that it was the beginning of a new dispensation in the state's local government administration.

He said that the election of the chairmen was a testament to the hope that their people reposed in them, charging the newly sworn in chairmen to do everything possible not to disappoint the people.

The governor said, 'It is a social contract with your people. You have to work tirelessly to ensure the rapid development of your various local government areas. You shall strive to make this state and your local governments a role model in Nigeria in terms of economic development.'

Imoke told the chairmen to ensure continuity in their respective local governments by completing people-oriented projects begun by their predecessors.

'You must ensure that all projects embarked upon by your predecessors that are beneficial to the people are completed irrespective of political affiliations or ethnic background,' he said.

The governor further charged the new chairmen with ensuring due process in the award of contracts by sticking to the state's medium-term development framework.

He also told them to maintain synergy with the state government to ensure uniformity of purpose in the development of rural communities.

He warned them not to stay outside their local government areas and to ensure that they reside in their local councils.

Responding, the Chairman of Akpabuyo Local Government council, Dr. Patrick Okon, promised that the chairmen would discharge their duties in line with the people's demands and needs.

'We owe the people of Cross River huge loads of debt and I promise that we shall not fail you,' he said.

The swearing-in was the third in the life of the present administration since it assumed office in 2007.

The new chairmen and their deputies were made to take oath of denunciation of cultism and the oath of allegiance.

All the chairmen belong to the ruling Peoples Democratic Party in the state.