TheNigerianVoice Online Radio Center


By Ugochukwu Favour-Mayor
Listen to article

The organizing committee of the Ekwe (All Igbo Music) Award for 2013 has released the list of nominees for the award. During a press briefing at Lodan Hotels Owerri, Imo State, the facilitator and team leader of the committee, Ugo Stephenson said that Ekwe is a signature time for all Igbo music, and that is why that particular musical instrument is chosen as the name for the award. That the award is to reward musicians who project Igbo language through music. He emphasized that the Igbo man does not document his culture, which gives reason for the loss of some of these music forms, and also because these music forms are not appreciated warranting their being dumped by the practitioners.

“We are here to celebrate them” he said. Ugo Stephenson also revealed that mere mention of these artistes and their music for the award has given new life to the music. “They are happy being celebrated” he said.

He described Ekwe Award as a very great idea, in terms of sustaining and rebranding not only Igbo music but the language of the Igbo nation. He eulogized and commended those corporate bodies and individuals who have risen in partnership with his organization for the successful hosting of the award ceremony. He thanked especially MTN Nigeria for identifying with the award. The award ceremony is billed to hold in Owerri, capital of Imo State on December 7, 2013.

Among the categories for the award include: Best Abigbo Artiste, Best Bongo Artiste, Best Ekpili Artiste, Best Odomodu Artiste, Best Nkwanwite Artiste, Best Ogene Artiste, Best Eri Obo Artiste, Best Oyolima Artiste, Best Udubunch Artiste, Best Christian and Highlife Artiste.

Also to be rewarded is Igbo artiste of the year, which Rev. Fr. Ejike Mbata and Prince Morocco Maduka, and two others were nominated.

Post humors award went to late Stephen Osita Osadebe and Emily Amaechi, while Lifetime achievement award in Igbo Music went to Chief Mike Ejeagha and Nze Dan Orji of the Peacocks International Fame.


1. Best Abigbo Artiste,
* Abigbo Chokoneze
* Bishop Onwukwe
* Abigbo Odiche Amuzu
* Chukwu Robinson

2. Best Bongo Artiste
* Obisco
* Chimuanya
* Ababanna
* Chima Eke

3. Best Ekpili Artiste
* Ifeanyi Agwuedu
* Okwesilieze Nwanyigbo
* Prince Morroco Maduka
* Ozoemena Nwansugbe

4. Best Nkwanwite Artiste
* Elobe Egbara
* Cletus Idike
* Agu Favour
*Steven Nkwegu Eyeke

5. Best Ogene Artiste
* Shidodo
* Malaika
* Nwa Ghana
* Ochi War

6. Best Eri Obo Artiste
* Eric Eze
* Parley Brown
* Tufikwa
* Peacemaker

7. Best Odumodu Artiste
* King Ogenwanne
* Prof Obewe
* Oku Nwamama
* Prince Ezeugo

8. Best Oyolima Artiste
* Adaigbo Brothers
* Ojinwane Je Izu
* Anioma Brothers
* Nwalama Brothers

9. Best Udubunch Artiste
* Pammy Udubunche
* Pammy Umubunche
* Pammy Nwa Cultural Troup
*Umuoma Cultural Troup

10. Best Igbo Highlife Artiste
* Flavour
* Chijioke Mbanefo
* Mighty Iroko
*Eugene de Coque

11. Best Igbo Christian Artiste
* Rev. Fr. Mbaka
* Chinyere Udoma
* Rosemary Chukwu
*Cornelius Benjamin

12. Best Igbo Artiste of the Year
* Rev. Fr. Ejike Mbaka
* Prince Morroco Maduka
* Chima Eke
* Chijioke Mbanefo

13. Best Igbo Lyrics on scroll
* Slow Dogg
* Mr Raw
* Phyno
* Ruff Coin

14. Best Igbo Music Producer
* Chigozie Iroanya
* Okey Oku
* Emma Ekeson
*Emeka Morgan

15. Best Igbo Music Marketer
* C-Mecks
* Uil-Ik Music
* Vinosco
* Onyii Music

16. Life Time Achievement Award in Igbo Music (2)
* Chief Mike Ejeagha
* Nze Dan Orji

17. Post Humors Awards in Igbo Music (2)
* Stephen Osita Osadebe
* Emily Amaechi