TheNigerianVoice Online Radio Center

PDP ex-chair, Ahmadu Ali, others get board appointments

By The Citizen

Supervising Minister of Education, Nyesom Wike, on Monday commissioned 12 governing councils of parastatals and institutions, as well as two committees on Need Assessment for Polytechnics and Colleges of Education.

Chairing the Board of the National Universities Commission is a former Peoples Democratic Party Chairman, Dr. Ahmadu Ali, while Mrs. Yejide Ogundipe chairs the National Board of Technical Education.

Others appointed as chairmen are Prof. Greg Iwu, Teachers Registration Council of Nigeria; Chief Emmanuel Edohoeket, Nigeria French Language Village, Badagry; Dr. Tosin Awolalu, National Institute for Nigerian Language, Abia State; and Col. Theophilus Bamigboye (retd.), Federal Polytechnic Bida, Niger State.

They also include Adamu Maina Waziri, Federal Polytechnic, Birnin-Kebbi, Kebbi State; Pastor Yusuf Alfa, Federal Polytechnic, Bali, Taraba State; Senator Onyema Okoroafor, Federal Polytechnic, Kazaure, Jigawa State; Federal Polytechnic, Oko, Anambra State; Mr. Bekeakpo Etifa, Federal Polytechnic, Ekowe, Bayelsa State; and Mr. Bala Kaoje, Federal College of Education, Technical, Zamfara State.

Mrs. Fatima Ahmed and Hindatu Abdullahi are to chair the Needs Assessment Committees of Polytechnics and Colleges of Education respectively.

Wike urged the governing councils members to provide right leadership, promote accountability, professionalism and condition of learning.

He also called on polytechnics and colleges of education 'not only to transform and become more responsive to national needs, but also to be more accountable to their students, employers and the broader society.'

The minister, who reminded the members of the governing councils that they were not to interfere in the day to day running of the institutions, however urged them to work harmoniously with the management of institutions.