Oyo rewards outstanding students in national competitions

By The Citizen

The Oyo State Government has rewarded two of its students and a school that won different laurels and prizes in national competition.

One of the students, Motolani Akinpelu of Alayande School of Science, Oke Bola, Ibadan won first position at the Professor Wole Soyinka National Essay Competition.

Akinpelu's school one of the six that represented the state at the competition. Others were School of Science, Pade, Queen School, apata, Kings International School, Moniya and Best Brain College, all in Ibadan, as well as Sharon Rose College, in Saki.

Also, Master Agmineha Tochukwu of Baptist Grammar School, Oke-Ado, Ibadan won the overall best in the state at the 2012 Basic Education Certificate Examination, while the Yejide Girls Grammar School team won bronze medal for the state at the Nestle Milo National Basketball Competition.

Besides, an Ibadan-based non-governmental organization, The Elizabeth Jayeola Foundation also rewarded the overall best student in the JSS III examination in the 2012 state public secondary school examinations.

Governor Abiola Ajimobi, while speaking at the recognition/award presentation ceremony in Ibadan at the week-end,  through the state Commissioner for Education, Mrs. Adetokunbo Fayokun,thanked the students for doing the state proud in the various examinations/competitions.