TheNigerianVoice Online Radio Center

Opposition coalition names Akande national chairman

By The Rainbow
Listen to article

The national leaders of the coalition of political parties, which wishes to be known as  All Progressives Congress (APC) has announced Chief Bisi Akande  as the National Chairman.

Akande held same position in the legacy Action Congress of Nigeria, which has just dissolved into the APC.

Also,  former House Speaker, Aminu Bello Masari, became  deputy chairman, Northern zone.

Other key names include Chief Tom Ikimi who emerged vice chairman, South South, while former Ekiti State governor, Niyi Adebayo was made vice chairman for the south west. Other vice chairmen include Senator Annie Okonkwo for the South East; General Abdulahi Aboki for the North Central; while former Federal Capital Territory minister, Mallam Nasir El-Rufai was made the deputy national secretary.

The current national secretary of the All Nigeria Peoples Party, Fidelis Tumza emerged the national secretary while Sharon Ikpeazo was made the national women leader. Hajia Sadiat Umar Farouk is the new national treasurer, while Alhaji Lai Mohammed retained his position as the national publicity secretary.

Other slots given to the ACN are national legal adviser, deputy national treasurer, deputy national youth leader, two vice chairmanship seats and two ex-officio members.

It was learnt that the APC caucus meeting Monday night adopted the names which have been reportedly packaged for onward transmission to the Independent National Electoral Commission.