OPA 2009 to honour Aki and Paw Paw

Source: nigeriafilms.com

The Association of Movie Journalist (AMJ) has concluded plans to hold the third edition of the yearly Nollywood Outstanding Personality Award (NOPA). Slated to hold on Friday, December 4, at Terra Kulture, Victoria Island, Lagos; the award will see practitioners of the movie industry such as Adim Williams, the duo of Chinedu Ikedieze and Osita Iheme, Kate Henshaw, Dagogo Diminas and Jonathan Gbemuto being awarded. Also, a life time achievement awards will be conferred on Sir Mike Adenuga for his passionate interest in the entertainment industry and Sir Dr. Walter Ofonagoro for his contributions to Nollywood and arts in general as former DG of NTA and Minister of Information and Culture. The ex- deputy editor of Thisday Newspaper, Oji Onoko and Shuaibu Husseni of The Guardian Newspaper will also be honoured on that day with the Diamond Pen Merit Award for their outstanding contributions to Movie Journalism while Vanguard Newspaper will be honoured for its incisive coverage and reportage of Nollywood.

According to the CEO of NOPA and President of the Association of Movie Journalists, Stanley U. Okoronkwo, “this edition will be simply grand and exciting. The Director General of the National Lottery Commission, Dr. Peter Igho has indicated his willingness to chair NOPA 2009, while his Imperial Majesty Eze I. A. Ikonne, the Enyi 1 of Aba will be the royal father of the day”. The award with the theme 'the seal of excellence in professionalism' is an initiative of Stanword Media Group and hosted in partnership with the Association of Movie Journalists (AMJ). NOPA is actively supported by Nollywood, and Nigeria Film and Video Censors Board (NFVCB), National Film Corporation (NFC), corporate bodies and the media. It has also enjoyed sponsorship from LIFF, Gold Angel, Orbit Audiovisual Studio, CLOUT Media and Super Max (Fuel Savers).

Story by http://nollywoodgists.com