TheNigerianVoice Online Radio Center


By NBF News
Listen to article

The House had on Wednesday approved a motion to probe the concession moved by Hon Yakubu Dogara from Bauchi State alleging that it was secretly done during the period of transition to the present government.

It was also alleged in the motion that Single Windows Systems Technology Limited had no record of engaging in any activities in the maritime sector here in Nigeria or abroad.

Deputy House Leader, Hon Leo Ogor was named as the chairman of the ad-hoc committee drawn from the six-geo political zones.

Mover of the motion, Dogara was named as a member of the probe panel, others include Chris Etta, Dr Rafiu Ibrahim, Arua Arunsi, Femi Adekeye, Jerry Alagbaso and Ka'Amuna Khadi.

The rest are Bashir Adamu, Rufai Chanchagi, Aminu Jonathan and Ajaja Adetunji.

They are to probe the circumstances leading to the 'illegal concession agreement by the Ministry of Finance under the leadership of Dr. Olusegun Aganga and the private firm.

The motion alleged that the firm of Single Windows Systems Technology Limited was not known anywhere beyond its residential office accommodation at Asokoro district of Abuja and that the contractual agreement was in absolute secrecy and in violation of the Public Procurement Act.

The motion was titled, 'Illegal Concession Agreement between the Federal ministry of finance and Single Window Systems and Technology Limited signed in absolute secrecy during the government transition period'.

The ad-hoc committee was given four weeks to turn in its reports to the House.