Saraki, Dokpesi, Nnamani, Dangote Unite For Jonathan Campaign

Source: THEWILL. -
Listen to article

SAN FRANCISCO, Feb 14, (THEWILL) – The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has named some of those opposed to the Presidential bid of President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan as members of his Presidential Campaign Council (PCC).

Also included in the Jonathan campaign are businessmen Dr Mike Adenuga, Chief Femi Otedola, Alhaji Aliko Dangote, Mr. Tony Elumelu, Alhaji Sayyu Dantata, Alhaji Kashim Bukar, Mr. Jim Ovia, Alhaji Dahiru Mangal, Alhaji Abdulasamad Rabiu, Chief Emeka Offor, and Mr. Kola Salako, who were named donors.

Former Chairman of First Bank Nigeria Plc, Dr. Oba Otudeko will Chair the Finance and Fund Raising Committee, while former Inspector General of Police, Mr. Mike Okiro will chair the security committee.

Members of the Presidential Council include associates of former Presidential aspirants, General Ibrahim Badamasi Babangida and former Vice President Atiku Abubakar, who emerged the candidate of the Mallam Adamu Ciroma led Northern Political Leaders Forum (NPLF), a group that vehemently opposed Jonathan’s Presidential ambition.

Former Presidential aspirant and Kwara State Governor, Dr. Bukola Saraki was named as Chairman of the PCC Reconciliation Committee while former Senate President Ken Nnamani was named as member.

Mallam Adamu Ciroma’s wife and National Women Leader of the PDP, Hajiya Inna Ciroma; former Ondo State Governor, Dr. Olusegun Agagu; ex-Minister Professor Jerry Gana; Alhaji Bamanga Tukur; Alabo Tonye Graham-Douglas; Senator Ladan Shunni and Ambassador Aminu Wali were named as members of the reconciliation committee.

A statement from the PDP listed former Campaign Director of General Babangida, High Chief Raymond Dokpesi as member of the PCC Publicity Committee. Members of the committee also include Source Magazine Publisher Comfort Obi and Mr. Dennis Sami of the Nigeria Pilot.

Member of the PDP Board of Trustees, Chief Tony Anenih will serve as Campaign Adviser to the PCC while a former PDP National Secretary and Minister, Chief Ojo Maduekwe will serve as Secretary.

The six zones will be coordinated by the same governors that manned the Jonathan/Sambo Campaign Organization in the zones before the party’s January 13 presidential convention.

They are; Cross River State Governor, Senator Liyel Imoke (South South); Ebonyi State Governor, Mr. Martin Elechi (South East); Ogun State Governor, Otunba Gbenga Daniel, (South West); Benue State Governor, Mr. Gabriel Suswan (North Central), Bauchi State Governor, Mr. Isa Yuguda (North East) and Katsina State Governor, Alhaji Ibrahim Shema (North West).

The Inter-Party Relations Committee is headed by Chief Ebenezer Babatope.

The committee will liaise with political parties that have adopted Jonathan as their Presidential candidate.

Dr. Dalhatu Tafida, the Director General of the Jonathan/Sambo Campaign Organisation will head the PCC, which would be inaugurated on Tuesday (tomorrow) by the Acting Chairman of the PDP, Dr. Haliru Bello Mohammed at the party’s head quarters in Abuja.