TheNigerianVoice Online Radio Center


By NBF News
Listen to article

Those that were recalled are Rep. Gbenga Onigbogi (PDP, Osun) and Rep. Ehiogie West Idahosa ( PDP Edo). They are to report to the chamber at 10 am this morning.

However, the House did not recalled Rep. Austin Nwachukwu who had withdrawn his case from the court and has written to the House pleading with them to recall him. The lawmakers said he too must have to follow due process by appearing before the Rep. Sani Saleh Minjibir's  led Committee.

It is not however, clear if the two recalled members would be paid their  five months allowances and two quota constituency allocation of about N100 million naira each which were paid after they were suspended.

The House has said that, the members were not suspended as a group, but rather on individual basis, and that as far as the House was concerned, the group had no any statutory recognition.

The Progressives were suspended by the House on Tuesday, June 22  this year  after a free-for-all broke out over allegations leveled against Speaker Dimeji Bankole  that he misappropriated N9 billion naira cap[ital budget of the lower legislature chamber  between 2008 and 2009.

The suspended members  were Dino Melaye (PDP, Kogi), West Idahosa (PDP, Edo), Independence Ogunewe (PDP, Imo), Solomon Awhinawi (PDP, Delta), Austine Nwachukwu, Gbenga Oduwaiye (Ogun) and Abba Anas Adamu (PDP, Jigawa). Others are Kayode Amusan (PDP, Ogun) Gbenga Onigbogi (PDP, Osun) Birus Kaze (PDP, Plateau) and Doris Uboh (PDP, Delta).