8th Amvca: Passion And Glamour Glitz

By Ifeanyi Ndukwe, The Nigerian Voice Entertainment

The 8th edition of the highly anticipated prestigious African Magic Viewers Choice Awards(AMVCA) grand finale just held at Eko Hotel and Suites, Victoria Island. It was an occasion of glamour meeting passion.

It is an annual event to appreciate professionals and lovers of African movies and television.

Without boring you with details, join me as we take a look at the winners of the edition. The awards for Best Art Director (Movie/TV Series) saw Tunji Afolayan winning the medal for his quitessential role in "Amina. "

For the newly added category for Best Dressed, deletable Osas Ighodaro grab the prize while Denola Grey beat Opeyemi to it.

The Trailblazer Prize was won by Teniola Aladese. According to the organnizers, the winner of this category gets $2,000 from Tasha Smith.

In a brief interlude, Nigeria Idols, Kingdom and Akunna tribute songs to angels of the industry made the moment empathic and emotional as the screen displays in respect all actors and actresses who died on course of duty.

Ramsey Nouah won the Best Director category for the remake "Rattle Snake. " While Best Overall Movie went to "Amina" by Izu Ojukwu and Okey Ogunjiofor.

In another interesting interlude, The masked one, Lagbaja, got the audience on their feet as they danced to his popular 'Konko Below' tune.

Best Lighting Designer (Movie or Series) category saw Mathew Yusuf grabbing the winner in the "Rattlesnake." While Best Picture Editor winner goes to Tunde Apalowo for the movie, "Maria Ebun Pataki. "

Best Sound Editor (Movie/TV series) category, Jim Lively and James Nelson for" Amina. " while Best Writer (Movie/TV Series) was won by the trio, Manie Oiseomaye, Donald Tombia and Biodun Stephen for their creative ingenuity in "Introducing The Kujus"

The award for Best Cinematographer was won by
Muhammed Atta Ahmed(Rattlesnake: The Ahanna Story) and Best Makeup category was grabbed by Balogun Abiodun for his skills in, "Omo Ghetto The Saga. "

Millicent T. Jack( Amina) won the Best Costume Designer while Best Indigenous Language Movie or TV Series (Swahili) was won by Freddy Feruzi (Obambo).

David Akande, Demola Yusuf and Edgard Leroy ( Alasie) won the Best Indigenous Language Movie or TV Series (Yoruba) while Best Indigenous Language Movie or TV Series (Igbo) was won by Uche Nnanna Maduka ( ‘Nne-Ka)

Rogers Ofime (The Mystic River) won the category for Best Television Series (Drama/ Comedy) while Best Documentary by Saitabao Kaiyare, Mumo Liku, Elena Schilling, Daniella Fritz and Ann Katrina Boberg took the lead for their work, "If Objects Could Speak."

Best Short Film Or Online Video
Taiwo Ogunnimo while Best Online Social Content Creator category was won by Oga Sabinus ( Mr Funny).

The night was crowned with dance performances and celebrations galore as winners and contenders celebrate with one another in the spirit of sportsmanship.