TheNigerianVoice Online Radio Center

ANTP Suspends Veteran Actor, Jimoh Aliu

Source: Osaremen Ehi James/
Listen to article has learnt that a Nigerian legend of Performing Arts, Jimoh Aliu, also known as Aworo, has been suspended by the Association of Nigerian Theatre Arts Practitioners (ANTP).

He was kicked out of the group alongside eight others at a meeting held some weeks ago.

According to information gathered by us, the eight members of ANTP were suspended indefinitely for alleged anti-association activities, lawlessness and also for persistently and consistently violating the constitution of the association with impunity.
The other seven affected persons are Olowomojuore Wole (Oyo State), Yahaya Adetunji (Oyo State), Rasaki Oyadiran a.k.a. Baroka (Ogun State), Jare Adeniregun (Ogun State), Bashiru Sanni (Ogun State), Musiliu Dasofunjo (Oyo State) and Biodun Adekanbi (Oyo State).

At the meeting of the group held on Saturday, December 20, 2014 at the Kwara State Arts & Culture Centre (Main Hall), Ilorin, Comrade Victor Ashaolu took an oath of office as president of ANTP in the presence of Barrister Abdul-Malik Abdul-Majeed.

This was consequent upon a court verdict of Thursday, January 30, 2014 by Justice Bolaji Yussuf of the Oyo State High Court 3, at Ring Road, Ibadan that declared him winner of the ANTP election.

At the swearing-in ceremony, other members of the executives took oath of office.

They are Mustapha Eletu as National Deputy President, Yisa Alabi Olorunoje as National Vice President (North), Najeem Adio Tijani as National General Secretary, Isaac Ajidaun as Assistant National general Secretary, Mrs Abiola Ayeni Adejumo as National Treasurer, Tawab Fatola as National Financial Secretary, Miss Atinuke D. Akindele as National Publicity Secretary, Bakare Shittu as National Welfare Secretary 1 (Male), Mrs Yinka Adeleke as National Welfare Secretary 2 (Female),
Elijah Afolayan as National Chief Whip 1 (Male), Mrs Esther Akinola Omidiran as National Chief Whip 2 (Female), Ibrahim M. Yahaya as National Auditor and Abiodun Rufai (Odua) as National ex-officio 1.

It would be recalled that a meeting of the ANTP fourth Quadrennial delegates conference took place at the Orange Hotels, Bolorunduro, Ilesa, Osun State on Friday, July 11, 2014.

At the meeting, it was resolved and approved that the period spent on the court case(s), almost three and half years, should be regarded as crises and transition period, hence all officers of the association should be regarded just starting the first term in office from local government chapters to the national level.

The new regime will not end in July 2018.

Earlier, the ANTP inaugural committee chairman, Busari shaasudden Akande, courtesy of his company, Vanguard Associates Consultants Int'l, hinted that Ashaolu's mandate is to advocate for policy that generate opportunity for everybody, policies that would strengthen the middle class and give more people the chance to get their way into the middle class.

He said such policies would create more good jobs and reduce poverty and educate more members of the association.

In his acceptance speech, Ashaolu stated clearly that ANTP needs missionary, visionary, capable and experienced executives, who will not only be able to avoid the mistakes land pitfalls of the past, but will steer the ship of the association out from its present troubled waters into a regime of peace, stability and professional economic advancement, for the benefit of all members.

He commended members of ANTP inauguration committee, especially the chairman, Akande.
“I am not seeing the office of the National President as a stepping stone of prestige or glory, rather, I believe that ANTP has reached a stage where dedication, hardwork and sacrifice must become the key factor in national leadership,” Ashaolu said.

He revealed that his vision for the association include a total commitment to the welfare of all members and the association's rapid social, political, and professional progress and development.

The veteran stage actor said he will ensure the eradication of poverty, ignorance and immaturity among members, promising to create a forum for empowerment of the leaders, elders, widows and upcoming artistes.

The ceremony was graced by the Emir of Ilorin, Sheikh Sulu Gambari, who was ably represented by all the Emirate councils, namely Balogun Fulani, Balogun Gambari, Balogun Alanamu, Balogun Ajikobi, Mogaji Aare and HRH Oba Samuel Oludare Arigbamu of Agbamu.