TheNigerianVoice Online Radio Center

Jonathan Nominates Obanikoro, Akwashiki, Five Others As Ministers

Listen to article

President Goodluck Jonathan has sent the names of seven ministerial nominees for security clearance, has gathered.

The nominees, according to Nigeria Television Authority (NTA), include the immediate past Minister of State for Defence, Senator Musiliu Obanikoro and former senator representing Nasarawa north, Mrs. Patricia Akwashiki.

Also listed for security clearance is Mr. Keneth Kobani, who served as Commissioner for Finance in the Dr. Peter Odili administration.

Obanikoro resigned to contest the PDP governorship primary in Lagos State, but lost to Mr. Jimi Agbaje.

After initially challenging Agbaje's victory, Obanikoro however later publicly endorsed his former rival repairing the cracks in Lagos PDP.

Akwashiki was senator representing Nasarawa north senatorial district from 2007 to 2011, and is expected to fill replace Mr. Labaran Maku who resigned to contest the governorship election.

Maku lost the bid to fly the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) flag and defected to All Progressives' Grand Alliance (APGA).

Kobani, who is Ogoni, also served as national treasurer of the now defunct Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN), and became a strong supporter of the Rivers PDP governorship candidate, Chief Nyesom Wike. He is expected to fill the slot for Rivers State.

The post Jonathan Nominates Obanikoro, Akwashiki, Five Others As Ministers appeared first on Pointblank News .