BEHOLD! Winners at Nigerian Broadcasters Merit Awards (NBMA) 2014

By Kazeem Popoola

It was fun, frills and thrills on Saturday November 15, 2011, as broadcasters from the North, South-West, South-East and Lagos stormed the Ballroom of Oriental Hotel for the much talked about fifth edition of the Nigerian Broadcasters Merit Awards.

His Excellency, Governor Mohammed Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso of Kano State was crowned as the Best Governor in the Northern region of Nigeria while Dr. Ahmed Tijjani Ramalan, the Executive Chairman ATAR Communication, bagged The Lifetime Achievement Award for his Outstanding contributions to the growth of quality broadcasting in the Northern part of Nigeria, and Prince Gbolahan Lawal, the Honourable Commissioner, Ministry of Agriculture & Cooperatives ,Lagos was also honoured for his Outstanding Performance in the development of Agricultural sector in Lagos State.

The event was hosted by Wazobia FM's electrifying presenter Omotunde Adebowale- David a.k.a Lolo1 alongside Rhythm FM's ace presenter Anita Isedeh otherwise known as Omalicha and Elajoe.

Below is the full list of winners at NBMA 2014.


1. Best Campus Radio Station
Unilag FM (Lagos).

2. Best Campus Radio Presenter
Michael Dimeji-Lamu (Unilag FM)

3. Best Online Radio Channel
Praise World Radio

4. Best Online TV Channel
Ndani TV

5- Humanitarian Award
Isaac and Nneke Moses (Goge Africa)

6-Cameraman of the Year
Iyke Elue (AIT)

7- Producer of the Year
Suleiman Aledeh (Sunrise Daily on Channels TV)
8- Best Station Manager
Evita Moussalli (Wazobia, Cool and Nigerian Info)

9-Best Programme Director (TV only)
Ayoola Opere (EbonyLife TV)

10-Visual Editor of the year
Segun Oderinde (Moment with Mo)

11. Best coverage of news story (TV) (Satellite/Digital channel only)
Channels TV

12- Best coverage of news story Radio - (National)
Radio Nigeria

13- Best coverage of news story (Regional) North
Kapital FM Abuja

14- Best coverage of news story South-West
Orange FM (Akure)

15- Best coverage of news story South-East
Love FM (Port Harcourt)

16. Best Pay Digital TV channel provider

17. Pay Digital TV channel provider with Best Technical Innovation


18- Pay satellite TV channel provider with Best Creative Innovation

19- TV Station with Best Creative Innovation
-Channels TV

20 –Radio Station with Best Creative Innovation
Inspiration FM

21- Best Use of Branded Content (TV only)
. Who Wants To be A millionaire
22-TV Channel with Best Station Imaging
-Channels TV

23-Radio Channel with Best Station Imaging
Cool FM

24. Best Entertainment program on TV
AY Show

25- Best TV Series/Drama
Clinic Matters

26-Best Talk Show on TV
Sunrise Daily on Channels TV

27- Best TV Reality Show
MTN Project Fame

28-Best Brands/Business/ Food/Technology programme on TV
- Foodie and Spice (WapTV)

29. Best TV Community Access programme
KaKaaki on AIT

30-Best Community Access programme on Radio
-Uzu Ummune on Blaze FM

31- Best Coverage of a Live Event (TV Only)

32- Best Sports program on TV
-Sports File (AIT)

33-Outstanding Sportscaster on TV (Male)
Alfred Okoligwe (AIT)

34-Outstanding Sportscaster on TV (Female)
- Juliet Mafua (TVC)

35- Best Sports analyst/commentator
-Victor Ikpeba

36- Outstanding Sportscaster on Radio (Male) Lagos
.-Jide Alabi (Rhythm FM)

37- Best Sportscaster on Radio (Female)
-Princess Fiona (Nigeria Info)

38- Best Sportscaster on Radio (North- South-East)
- Mohammed Suleiman Mowiz (Liberty FM Kaduna)

39- Best Radio Program Presenter (s) (Educational/Health/Human Interest) 'Listener's Choice'
Health Matters with Jacqueline Adebija (Liberty FM Kaduna)

40- Best New Radio Station
-Beat FM Ibadan

41. Best TV Station (NATIONAL)
-A.I.T Network

42 .Best TV Station (REGIONAL)

43- Best TV Channel
-EbonyLife TV

44. Best Entertainment Channel (Africa)

45. Best Entertainment Channel (International)

46. Best Radio Station (Lagos)
-City 105.1 FM

47- Best Radio Station (North)
-Freedom Radio FM, Kano

48- Best Radio Station (South-West)
-Grace FM (Lokoja)

49- Best Radio Station (South-East)
-Blaze 95.1FM (Anambra)

50-Best Indigenous TV Channel
-Africa Magic Yoruba

51. Best Indigenous Radio Station (South-West) (Yoruba/Pidgin)
-Faaji FM (Lagos)

52- Best Indigenous Radio Station (North)( Hausa)
- Tashariyanci 91.7FM (Kaduna)

53- Best Indigenous Radio Station East (Igbo/pidgin)
Magic FM (Aba)

54- Best Newscaster (Indigenous) Pidgin/Igbo
- Tuebi Abide (Wazobia FM Lagos)

55- Best Newscaster (Indigenous) Yoruba
-Bayo Faleke (Splash FM Ibadan)

56- Best Newscaster of the Year (Indigenous) Hausa
Ashu Brown (Dala FM Kano)

57-- Best Indigenous Presenter (Male) South-West (Yoruba/Pidgin)
-Fatai Dan Kazeem (Ilorin)

58- Best Indigenous Presenter ( (Female) South-West (Yoruba/Pidgin)
-Omidan Olayinka (Royal FM Ilorin)

59- Best Indigenous Presenter (Male) South-East-North Igbo/Pidgin
-James Expensive (Wazobia FM Abuja)

60 -Best Indigenous Presenter (Female) South-East-North Igbo/ Pidgin
-Imaobong (SabiGirl) (OneMic Lounder)

61- Best Indigenous Presenter North Hausa/Pidgin
-Ibrahim Yunus (Unity FM Jos)

62. Best TV Reporter
- Chukwuma Onuekwusi (Channels)

63-Best Newscaster (TV) Male

-Ayotunde Balogun (Channels)

64-Best Newscaster (TV) Female
-Harriet Agbenyi (Channels TV)

65. Best Radio Newscaster (English). Male
- Solomon Iorpev (Kapital FM/Radio Nigeria Abuja)

66- Best Radio Newscaster of the Year Female
- Adaolisa Adirika (Blaze FM Anambra)

67- Best Nigerian DJ (Listeners Choice)
- DJ Xclusive (Cool FM Lagos)

68- Best Nigeria VDJ
- DJ Spinall (Channel O Africa)

69- Presenter Extraordinaire
Victor Otuya (Radio Continental)

70- Outstanding TV presenter (Male) (Entertainment/Talk Show)
-Joseph Benjamin (Project Fame)

71- Outstanding TV presenter (Female) (Entertainment/Talk Show)
-Helen Paul (Jara)

Outstanding Radio Program Presenter (s).
72- Outstanding Radio Program Presenter (s) Morning Ride
- Toyin Alabi (Issues and Events on Liberty FM Kaduna

73- Outstanding Radio Program Presenter (s) Midday/Lunch Hour
.-Faith Onyebujoh (Cool FM Abuja)

74- Outstanding Radio Program Presenter (s) (Drivetime
-Terry Ikumi ( Kapital FM ,Abuja)


75- Outstanding Radio Program Presenter (s) (Morning Ride)

- Adeolu Gboyega (Orange FM Akure)

76- Outstanding Radio Program Presenter (s) (Midday/Lunch Hour
-Yugee Bamidele (Independent Radio Benin)

77- Outstanding Radio Program Presenter (s) (Drivetime)
- Osato Edokpayi (Vibe FM Benin)

78- Outstanding Radio Program Presenter ( Night cruise)
.Dayo Adeyemi (Royal FM Ilorin)


79- Outstanding Radio Program Presenter (s) (Morning Ride
Valentine Ohu (Cool FM PH)

80- Outstanding Radio Program Presenter (s) (Midday/Lunch Hour
- Tobe Da Diva (Midday Express on Dream FM Enugu)

81. Sexiest On-Air Personality- Male

- Big Mo (Wazobia FM Abuja)

82- Sexiest On-Air Personality-Female
-Zainab Balogun

83- Actor Of The Year
-Chinedu Ikhedieze (Johnson's Family).

84- Actress of the Year (Viewers Choice)
-Kehinde Bankole

85. Nigerian Broadcaster of the year (Male)
-Steve Onu Yaw (Wazobia FM Lagos)

86- Nigerian Broadcaster of the year- Female
- Gbemi Olateru Olagbegi- (Beat FM)


87-African Broadcaster of the Year –Male
-IK Osakioduwa (Nigeria)

88-African Broadcaster of the Year -Female
- Marian Nyako-Lartey (PRTV South Africa)

89- Outstanding Radio Program Presenters (Morning Ride )
Mannie, Shine Bhego and Mercy Ajisafe (Good Morning Nigeria Show on Cool FM)

90- Outstanding Radio Program Presenter (s) (Midday/Lunch Hour
- Gloria Maduka (Brunch Time on Inspiration FM)

91- Outstanding Radio Program Presenter (s) (Drivetime )
-Tisan Bako (Power Play on Raypower FM, Lagos)
92- Outstanding Radio Program Presenter (s) (Night cruise)
Daniel Akpata (Radio Continental)