Three defected govs under pressure to rejoin PDP

By The Rainbow

Not  less than three of the defected Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) governors may yield to pressure and return to the party.

According to reports, the newly elected Chairman of the PDP, has extended olive branch to the governors while using close associates of the governors to woo them back.

It was learnt that both Governors Babangida Aliyu of Niger State and Sule lamido of Jigawa State are pivotal in the new push to bring the governors back into the PDP umbrella.

  It was also learnt that despite their grand standing, governors Murtala  Nyako, Aliyu Wamakko and Rabiu Kwankwaso, governors of Adamawa, Sokoto and Kano respectively have shown significant disposition to return to the fold.

On November 19 last year, five PDP governors, members of the aggrieved G-7 governors, left the party for APC. Nyako defected to the APC alongside four colleagues including the governors of Rivers, Sokoto, Kano and Kwara.

Lamido and Aliyu refused to move with their colleagues.

It was gathered that Muazu has reached out also Governor Rotimi Amaechi, who is engaged in a seemingly unending battle with the presidency.

the Kwara State Governor, AbdulFatah Ahmed, it was learnt has  also been contacted.

Meanwhile, a Daily Sun report indicate that  12 PDP senators have broken ranks with their colleagues.

According to the report,  at least 10 of them wrote to the Senate leadership dissociating them from the suit instituted at a Federal High Court in Abuja last month.

The 79 lawmakers, including 22 senators, obtained an order restraining Tukur, Senate President David Mark, Speaker of the House of Representatives, Aminu Tambuwal and the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) from declaring their seats vacant.

The 22 senators cited in the suit were: Bello Hayatu Gwarzo (Senate Chief Whip), Mohammed Ali Ndume, Ahmad Zannah, Abdulahi Adamu, Abdulahi Danladi Sankara, Abdulmumini Mohammed Hassan, Umaru Dahiru, Ahmed Mohammed Maccido, Muhammad Shaaba Lafiaji, Simeon Sule Ajibola, Abubakar Bukola Saraki, Magnus Ngei Abe, Wilson Asinobi Ake, Danjuma Mohammed Goje, Saidu Ahmed Alkali, Ahmed Hassan Barata, Bindowo Umar Mohammed Jibrilla, Aisha Jummai Alhassan, Ibrahim Abdulahi Gobir, Bashir Garba Mohammad, Abdulaziz Usman and  Sen. Isa Galaudu.

That accord has, however, been broken because even before resumption on plenary, some of them approached the leadership to pledge loyalty and also,their loyalty to the PDP.

In a new twist, 10 senators returned to the court on November 29, 2013 and filed a Notice of Discontinuance Pursuant to Order 50 Rule 2 (1) of the Federal High Court (Civil Procedure Rules, 2009).

The senators said that their names should be removed from the list of the senators who wish to defect to the APC in suit no: FHC/ABJ/ CV/ 621/2013 and copied to the leadership of the Senate.

The court order was received in the Senate on December 2, 2013. All the 10 senators are from the North.

A ranking senator said that after the case was filed at the Federal High Court, 'one of the senators, who was supposed to kick-start the defection gale in the chamber developed cold feet and refused to write the Senate President on his move to the APC.'