TheNigerianVoice Online Radio Center


By NBF News
Listen to article

It's another year, and Nigeria's biggest urban music awards are here again. And this time around, it promises to be a classic event. The Hip Hop World Awards popularly known as the Headies, has recently released the list of nominations for its awards in the various categories.

Leading the nominees are the Choc Boyz with a whopping 15 nominations among themselves, with Ice Prince getting nine nominations in the following categories: Song of the year, Producer of the year, Best Rap Single for Oleku and She and my Swagga, Lyricist on the roll, Best Collabo for Oleku and Joor Oh Remix, Next Rated and Best Street Hop for Joor Oh Remix. Undisputed crooner, MI, got five nominations in the following categories: Artiste of the year, Album of the year, Best Collabo, Best Conscious music and Lyricist on the roll, while Jesse Jagz has two nominations for Producer of the year and Hip Hop World Revelation of the year.

The Mo'Hits crew is also among the nominees, with Dr. Sid earning six nominations in the Album of the year, Song of the year, Best Pop single, Best RNB/Pop album, Producer of the year and Revelation of the year categories. D'banj follows closely with nominations for Artiste of the year, Song of the year for Give It To Me and Pop Something, Pop Single and Producer of the year. D'Prince has two nominations for Best Pop Single and Song of the year, while Don Jazzy is nominated for Producer of the year. In all, Mo'Hits Records is up for 10 nominations at this year's Headies.

Darey Art Alade also features in the list with six nominations in the Artiste of the year, Best RNB/Pop album, Best RNB single, Producer of the year, Recording of the year, and Best male vocal performance categories. The newest sensation on the entertainment scene, Wiz Kid was also nominated for the first time in the Next Rated, Best Pop single, Best Music Video and Producer of the year categories.

Nigeria's foremost musical artiste, 2face Idibia, also made it with seven nominations in categories of Album of the year, Artiste of the year, Song of the year, Producer of the year, Best RNB single, Best Conscious Music and Best RNB/Pop Album.

A new category was also introduced in this year's awards, the Best Conscious Music category, and the likes of Eldee, MI, Omawumi, Timi Dakolo and 2face will battle for it.  Others on the nomination list include Kas, Olamide, Samklef, Gini, J Sleek, Flavour, Tiwa Savage, Lynxx, Vector, Goldie, Wizboy, Waje, Mochedda Modenine, Timi Dakolo, Therry Rapman and Patrick Ellis.