By NBF News

The All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP) has won 22 out of the total 28 seats in the state House of Assembly elections held on Tuesday, leaving the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) with six seats.

The results announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) showed that ANPP lost six of the state constituencies, which it hasdbeen controlling since 2003 to its challenger, the PDP, including Bama Central, Konduga, Kaga, Chibok, Maiduguri Metropolitan Council (MMC) and Jere. In MMC and Jere, the PDP still maintained its grip as it did in the National Assembly and presidential polls. The two local governments also have the greatest number of registered voters and polling unit in the state. ANPP won in Gubio, Shani, Magumeri, Hawul, Mafa, Marte, Gulumba/Woloji and Bayo.

Others include Monguno, Ngazai, Mobbar, Dikwa, Ngala, Damboa, Kukawa, Askira/Uba, Biu, Abadam, Guzamala, Kwaya Kusar, Gwoza and Kala Balge. It was believed that the result of the Tuesday state assembly poll had returned the days of vibrant legislative business to the Borno State House of Assembly.

In 1999, the then APP, which later transformed to the ANPP and the PDP had 14 seats each. Both parties had weak majority until 2003 when the tide changed as the PDP's control in the House dropped to five seats, Alliance for Democracy (AD) also had six while ANPP secured 17 state constituencies.

Meanwhile, Maiduguri and some major towns in the state have remained unusually calm on Thursday as security agencies including the police and soldiers intensified surveillances to prevent possible violent reactions from the people.