UN Committee against Torture to review Sweden, Ukraine, Venezuela, Australia, Burundi, USA, Croatia, Kazakhstan

By United Nations - Office of the UN High Commissione

GENEVA, Switzerland, October 27, 2014/African Press Organization (APO)/ -- The UN Committee Against Torture is meeting in Geneva from 3 November to 28 November to review the following countries:

Sweden (4-5 Nov), Ukraine (5-6 Nov), Venezuela (6-7 Nov), Australia (10-11 Nov),

Burundi (11-12 Nov), USA (12-13), Croatia (13-14 Nov), Kazakhstan (17-18 Nov)

The above are among the 156 States parties to the Convention against Torture and Other Cruel, Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment. As States parties, they are required to undergo regular reviews by the Committee on how they are implementing the Convention and the Committee's previous recommendations.

The Committee, which is composed of 10 independent experts, will engage in dialogue with the respective government delegations. The public meetings, which begin at 10:00 and 15:00 Geneva time, will be webcast live and can be viewed here: http://www.treatybodywebcast.org/. All meeting will take place at Palais Wilson in Geneva except the review of the USA which will be held in Room XVII, Palais des Nations.

The full list of issues and the countries' reports are available at: http://tbinternet.ohchr.org/_layouts/TreatyBodyExternal/SessionsList.aspx?Treaty=CAT

The Committee will hold a news conference on Friday 28 November at 14:00 at Palais des Nations to discuss its concluding observations, which will be published here: