FG Shuts Five Unity Schools In North-east Over Boko Haram

Source: thewillnigeria.com

SAN FRANCISCO, March 05, (THEWILL) - Five Federal Government Colleges have been shut in the North-eastern States of Adamawa, Borno and Yobe over incessant attacks by Boko Haram gunmen.

The affected schools are Federal Government Girls College, Munguno and Federal Science and Technical College, Lassa in Borno; Federal Government College, Potiskum and Federal Government College, Buni Yadi in Yobe; as well as Federal Science and Technical College, Michika, Adamawa.

Announcing the shutting down of the Unity Schools in a statement by his Special Assistant on Media, Simeon Nwakaudu, on Wednesday in Abuja, the Supervising Minister of Education, Nyesom Wike, said the decision followed reports submitted by the principals of the schools.

The minister said in the statement that candidates who registered for the West African Senior Secondary Certificate Examination, the National Examination Council and Basic Education Certificate Examination in FGGC, Potiskum, should have their examination centres relocated to FGGC, Bauchi.

Last week, rampaging Boko Haram insurgents attacked the Federal Government College, Buni Yadi, Yobe State, killing no fewer than 30 students .