Kipruto, Yehualaw Win The London Marathon

By Chimezie Nebolisa

Kenya’s Amos Kipruto and Ethiopia’s Yalemzerf Yehualaw have won the London Marathon titles in the elite men’s and women’s races on Sunday.

Yehualaw finished the race in two hours, 17 minutes and 26 seconds making her the youngest ever London Marathon champion in women’s category while Kipruto won the men’s race in two hours, four minutes and 39 seconds.

Ethiopia’s Leul Gebresilase was second, crossing the line 33 seconds later, with Bashir Abdi of Belgium completing the podium.

With four miles to go in the women’s race, Yehualaw topped the podium ,Jepkosgei finished second, with Ethiopian Alemu Megertu placing third.

The 2022 London Marathon marked the third and final time the race will take place in October – moved because of the Covid-19 pandemic – with the race returning to its traditional spring date in 2023.