Jonathan Approves New Power Reform Structure

Source: itional//EN" " -
Listen to article

San Francisco, June 16, (THEWILL) – President Goodluck Jonathan has approved a new power reform structure as part of measures to transform the power sector and breathe life into electric power in the country, the President’s spokesman, Mr. Ima Niboro has said in a statement.

The new structure is to be driven by the Presidential Action Committee on Power chaired by the President, supported by a Presidential Task Force on Power.

The Presidential Action Committee will provide leadership and guidance for the development of the power sector, and determine the general policy direction and strategic focus of the ongoing power reform.

This Committee according to the statement has Vice President Mohammed Namadi Sambo as alternate chairman, and its other members include the Minister of State for

Power, the Ministers of Finance, National Planning and Petroleum Resources, the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, the Head of Service, Governor of the Central bank of Nigeria, a Special Adviser on Power, and Chief of Staff to the President.

The Presidential Task Force, on the other hand, is charged with developing and driving the Action Plan for the nation’s power sector with achievable targets within the lifespan of the present administration.

It is also to articulate a proper plan of action for implementation in the areas of power generation, transmission distribution as well as all issues regarding power sector reform. The Taskforce will report to the President and the Presidential Action Committee on a regular basis.

The Presidential Task Force is to be chaired by the Special Adviser to the President on Power. Members include the Permanent Secretary (Ministry of Power); Group Managing Director, Nigerian National Petroleum of Corporation (NNPC); Managing Director, Power Holding Company of Nigeria (PHCN); Managing Director, Niger-Delta Power

Holding Company (NDPHC); Director General, Bureau for Public Procurement (BPP); Director General Bureau for Public Enterprises (BPE); Accountant General of the Federation; Chief Executive, Nigeria Electricity Regulatory Commission (NERC); CEOs of two power distribution companies; CEOs of two generating companies, and Director of Power in the Power Ministry. The Senior Special Assistant to the President (Special Projects) will serve as Member/Secretary.

Under the new arrangement, the Ministry of Power will however continue to supervise the day to day affairs of the Ministry and relevant agencies, as well as fund the various projects approved in the 2010 budget. It will also provide a conducive environment for the Presidential Taskforce to carry out its assignment. All requests for the award of contracts for the consideration of the Federal Executive Council are to be handled by the Ministry.