By NBF News

The Sugababes' fourth line-up have been together since September 2009

Members of Sugababes have begun a legal battle over ownership of the pop group's name after former member Mutya Buena applied to own the trademark.

Buena, a founding member of the group, applied to the European Trademarks Authority in March 2009.

Now the current line-up – Heidi Range, Amelle Berrabah and Jade Ewen – have filed a notice of opposition, as have their record company, Island Records.

Range has previously told the BBC that their record company owns the name.

But when the last original member, Kiesha Buchanan, left last year, Buena commented: “It just means the Sugababes have ended.”

In a letter to the European Tradesmarks Authority, Universal's Island Records said that because of the “similarity of the goods and services” provided by the applicant – Buena – “there is a likelihood of confusion on the part of the public”.

Changing faces
Buena is currently working on her second solo album, following the release of her debut Real Girl in 2007.

If her application is successful, it could mean that she will own the rights to use the Sugababes name on goods such as CDs, DVDs and books.

The Sugababes line-up has changed several times since the original group was formed in 1998 by founding members Siobhan Donaghy, Mutya Buena and Keisha Buchanan.

Donaghy left in 2001, with Range replacing her. Buena left the band and was subsequently replaced by Berrabah.

And last year, it was confirmed that the last original Sugababe, Buchanan, was leaving the group – she was then replaced by former Eurovision contestant Ewen.