Open letter to the General Public

By Benin National Congress
Listen to article

Dear Sir or Ma.

5th Benin National Merit Award Special Invitation Letter

In recognition of the sterling leadership and patriotic contributions of distinguished Nigerians to the overall developments of our fatherland, the Select Committee of the annual Benin National Merit Award shortlisted the following personalities for the 5th edition of the great Award.

1. Sen. Ehigie Uzamere- Strategic Leadership Award
2. Mr. Ibosa Oshodin- Edo-Diaspora Business Leadership Award.
3. Hon. (Mrs.) Abike Dabiri- Advocate of Good Governance Award
4. Dr. Segun Dawodu- Edo Diaspora Patriot Award
5. Comrade Oseni Elamah- Transparency Advocate Award
6. Prof. Sunday Martins Ogbomwan- Distinguished Academy Award
7. Dr. Don Pedro Obaseki- Nigeria Cultural Academy Award
8. Hon. (Rev.) M.U. Egharevba JP- Youths Empowerment Advocate Award
9. Mr. Johnny Ekhator- Hospitality and Peace Award.

Past recipients of the Benin National Merit Award include
1. Princess Dr. (Mrs.) Catherine Oronsaye- Philanthropy Award 2006
2. Prof. Denise E. Agbonlahor- Nigerian Academic Award- 2005
3. Comrade Adams Oshiomhole- Advocate of Good Governance Award 2006
4. Mr. Sam Amuka- Distinguished Publisher of the Year 2007
5. Prof. Julius Ihonvbere OON- Distinguished Nigerian Politician 2006
6. Prof. Tony Ogiamien- Distinguished Academy Award- 2007
7. Hon. Samson Osagie – Distinguished Legislator of the year 2008
8. Mr. Solomon Edebiri MON JP- Advocate of Good Governance Award 2007
9. Hon. Sir Victor Uwaifo MON JP- Cultural Ambassador Award- 2007
10. Her Excellency, Dr. Mrs. Esohe Mark- Philanthropy Award 2008
11. Capt. Hosa Okunbor JP- Grand Commander of Edo Youths Award-2006
12. Pharm. Matthew Urhoghide- Edo Patriot Award-2005
13. Comrade Orobosa Omo-Ojo JP- Distinguished Publisher Award 2007
14. Prof. O.G. Oshodin- Benin Academic Award- 2008
15. Architect Emma Osagie JP- Bini Patriot Award- 2008

Papers shall be presented on the topic “the concept of Federalism and the challenges of Nigeria's federation” by two distinguished Edo patriots and scholars, namely-

1. Mr. Iyobosa Edebiri MON JP, National Chairman of People's Progressive Party; and Governorship Candidate of PPP in 2007 Gubernatorial election.

2. Hon. (Barr.) Henry Idahagbon- Former Chairman- Egor Local Government Council; and National Leader, People's Democratic Party.

It is our hope that His Royal will grace this pan-Bini event by delegation of our highly revered chiefs and Palace functionaries.

Date- Monday 28th December 2009
Venue – Royal Hall, Oba Akenzua Cultural Centre, Benin City.

Thanks for your anticipated cooperation. Oba gha t' okpere, Ise.

Mr. Aghasagbon Osazuwa Ms. Iziengbe Osaikhuwomwan

Chairman- LOC Secretary L.O.C.

Hon. Aiyamenkhue Edokpolo,
Founder and President, Benin National Congress