Obiano Charges Candidates to go for Victory as APGA Flags off 2015 Campaign

By James Eze

Candidates flying the flag of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) in the coming general elections were handed a “battle cry” at the formal presentation of flags at the Alex Ekwueme Square in Awka, Anambra State capital Saturday where the new BoT Chairman and National Leader of the party, Chief Willie Obiano charged them to “go and win” all the positions that are up for grabs in the coming elections.

Presenting the flags to the candidates, Obiano who is also the governor of the State stressed that the resounding accomplishments of his government had justified the confidence of the electorate in APGA and therefore provide the candidates the leverage to canvass for votes among the people in the state reasoning that, “our performance should be one of the reasons the electorate should vote for the party.”

However, while calling on party supporters to vote for APGA candidates in both the State and National Assembly elections, Governor Obiano emphasized that all votes in the Presidential Elections category must go to President Goodluck Jonathan because APGA had adopted him as its own candidate in the coming elections and would neither field another candidate nor have its logo on the ballot boxes for the presidential elections.

Governor Obiano also observed that Anambra had made a dramatic turn for the better in the past nine months as the security measures put in place as well as other policy initiatives had created a conducive environment that would encourage Ndi Anambra to return home to celebrate the Yuletide Season with their loved ones, pointing out that the State was wearing a beautiful look as a result of Christmas decorations on major streets and strategic positions which he said were made possible by some socially responsible organizations and individuals who appreciate aesthetics.

Also speaking at the rally, the National Chairman of the party, Chief Victor Umeh who is also standing election for the Anambra Central Senatorial seat, spoke on behalf of other candidates of APGA , emphasizing the need for APGA to clear all the State and National Assembly seats in order to surround the governor with like minds who would not sing discordant tunes in the future that might derail the giant strides of the Obiano administration.

Chief Umeh further observed that for the past eight years of APGA leadership in Anambra State, the electorate had enjoyed bounteous dividends of democracy adding that governor Obiano had reinvigorated governance and raised the bar of purposeful leadership in Nigeria.

The National Chairman however warned all opposition parties in the state that are preparing to field multiple candidates in the coming elections to desist from such act as APGA was ready to push for the disqualification of any party that attempts to present multiple candidates for a single electoral post in the coming elections.

Chief Umeh urged Anambra Voters to vote for all APGA candidates, both at the State and National levels, adding that it was imperative for unity of purpose and harmony in government.

The Anambra Central Senatorial candidate also expressed optimism that the candidates were well prepared and ready for the contest.

Apart from Chief Umeh, other candidates who will be flying APGA flag in the coming elections are former Executive Vice Chairman of the Nigeria Communications Commission (NCC), Engr. Ernest Ndukwe (Anambra South) and the former Commissioner or Local Government and Chieftaincy Matters, Chief Dubem Obaze (Anambra North).

APGA flags were also presented to the Federal House of Representatives candidates, namely: Chief Chukwuemeka Ojukwu jnr. (Nnewi North, South and Ekwusigo), Speaker, Princess Chinwe Nwebili (Ogbaru), Gabriel Onyenwife (Ayamelum), Chief Madubugwu (Anambra East and West), Anthony Tabansi-Okoye (Onitsha North and South), Ifeanyi Ibezim (Idemili North and South), Hygers Igwebuike (Orumba North and South), Godson Ezenagu (Awka North and South) among others.

Similarly, 30 House of Assembly members who won the party primaries also received their flags including Princess Nikky Ugochukwu (Orumba South), Dr. Godwin Okafor (Awka South), Kingsley Iryuka (Nnewi South 1), Rita Maduagwuna (Nnewi South II), Pauuly Onyeka (Ekwusigo),Udemudu Chidi Livinus (Ihiala 1), Paschal Agbodike (IHiala II), Amala Anazodo (Nnewi North),Vivian Okadigbo (Oyi), Obinna Emenaka (Anambra East), and Boniface Okonkwo (Awka North).

The rally tagged Mother of all Rallies, attracted a mammoth crowd from different parts of Anambra State, representing the different strata of society. Also in attendance were high government functionaries like the deputy governor of Anambra State Dr. Nkem Okeke, the Secretary to the State Government, Hon. Oseloka Obaze, the Chief of Staff, Professor Joe Asike and the entire executive council members and other appointees of government.