TheNigerianVoice Online Radio Center

APC House Of Assembly Aspirant, Ex-Ward Chairman, 120 Others Defect To PDP In Are-Ekiti

By Lere Olayinka
Listen to article

All Progressives Congress (APC) House of Assembly aspirant in Are-Ekiti, Irepodun/Ifelodun Local Government area of Ekiti State, Hon Bolorunduro Adebayo, the party former Ward Chairman for Are Ward, Chief Abegunde Lawrence and over 120 other members of the party have decamped to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

According to a release issued by the Director of Publicity, Ayo Fayose Campaign Orgnanisation (AFCO), Mr Gboyega Adribisogan, apart from Hon Adebayo, other notable members of the APC, who defected to the PDP included; the Odogun of Are-Ekiti; High Chief Adebayo Solomon, Elesha of Are-Ekiti and Chief Francis Omoyajowo.

The three high chiefs of Are-Ekiti, who left APC said they decided to team up with the PDP and its candidate, Mr Ayodele Fayose because of the position taken by the town's monarch, Oba Boluwade Adebiyi.

They said; Oba Adebiyi's position was against the town's general interest, adding that; "Are-Ekiti and Afao-Ekiti, Fayose's hometown are the same and we in Are-Ekiti cannot but support Fayose, who is like our son."

Also speaking, Hon Adebayo said he was tired of the deceits in APC, describing the party as occultic.

He said; "PDP to me is more democratic and accommodating as against a party like APC where decisions are taken without consultations with the people."

Receiving the decampees, the PDP ward Chairman for Are-Ekiti ward, Chief H. O. Owonifari assured them of level playing ground in the party, saying; "You won't be discriminated against because our party is very accommodating. You will be entitled to all privileges and rights of membership of the PDP as applicable to other members of the party."

Lere Olayinka
Inquiries: Call Lere Olayinka on 08034671763