Nigerian Government Tweaks National Confab List To Accommodate Excluded Minorities


SENATOR ANYIM PIUS ANYIM Itsekiris, Ogonis, Ishans, Others Get Representation SAN FRANCISCO, March 13, (THEWILL) - Nigeria Thursday announced what it described as 'some updates, changes and adjustments' to the list of the delegates to the National Conference scheduled to be inaugurated on March 17, 2014, in Abuja.

A statement by the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Senator Anyim Pius Anyim announced the changes following the outcry of some minority ethnic groups on their exclusion from the confab.

The SGF's statement reads in part: 'Following the release of the list of delegates to the National Conference, some updates, changes and adjustments have been effected as follows: Elder Statesmen: Dr.

Kunle Olajide from Ekiti State replaces Chief Afe Babalola, SAN.

Traditional Rulers: His Royal Highness, Alhaji Ibrahim Yaro, the Etsu of Bwari, replaces His Royal Highness, Alhaji Ismail Danlami Mohammed, Sarki of Karshi, on the request of the National Council of Traditional Rulers of Nigeria.

Women Groups (National Council of Women Societies): Mrs.

Millicent Okoronkwo replaces Mrs.
Love Ezema on the request of the National Council of Women Societies of Nigeria.

Political Parties (APGA): The nomination of Chief Chris Ejike Uche and Dr.

Sagir Auwal Maidoya to represent APGA is withdrawn to allow the Party resolve the issue of its nominees.

Socio-Political/Cultural and Ethnic Nationality Groups: South West Geo-Political Zone 1.

Prince Rabiu Oluwa replaces Supo Sonibare.
Oba Kehinde Olugbenle replaces Barr.
Niyi Akintola, SAN, whose name is retained in the Oyo State delegates list.

National Academies: Professor Layi Erinosho has been nominated by the Academy of Social Sciences to fill the one (1) slot allocated to the Academy.

Former Political Office Holders (Former Governors): The former Governors Forum has nominated Alhaji Mohammed Goni from Borno State to fill the slot for the North East Geo-Political Zone.

State Governments and FCT: The following State Governments have submitted a nominee each to fill the vacant slot in their respective State's delegates list: 1.

Delta State - Chief Isaac O.
Jemide; 2.
Edo State - Prof.
Eddy Erhagbe; 3.
Oyo State - Chief (Mrs.
) Onikepo Akande; 4.
Rivers State - Chief Sampson Agbaru; and 5.
Yobe State - Engr.
Abubakar Buba Galadima.
Addendum: 1.
Wole Oshun 2.
Ledum Metee 3.
Mike Ozekhome 4.
Anthony Akika 5.
Alhaji Sule Iyaji 6.
DIG (Amb) Abdulmumuni M.
Abubakar (rtd) TOTAL DELEGATES - 492 The Inauguration of the National Conference is scheduled as follows: Date: Monday, 17th March, 2014 Venue: National Judicial Institute (Along Airport Road), Abuja.

30 pm The following are invited to attend the Inauguration Ceremony: (i) Former Presidents and Heads of State; (ii) The Leadership of Political Parties; (iii) Members of the National Assembly; (iv) State Governors; (v) Hon.

Members of the Judiciary; (vi) Members of the Federal Executive Council; (vii) Members of the Diplomatic Corps; (viii) Religious Leaders; and (ix) Traditional Rulers.