Ballon d'Or: Cristiano Ronaldo Beats Lionel Messi And Ribery


Real Madrid forward Cristiano Ronaldo has beaten Barcelona's Lionel Messi and Franck Ribery of Bayern Munich to win the 2013 Fifa Ballon d'Or.

The Portugal captain, 28, was named as the world player of the year for the first time since 2008 by national coaches, captains and journalists.

Germany goalkeeper Nadine Angerer won the women's world player of the year.

Former Bayern Munich coach Jupp Heynckes picked up the coach of the year accolade.

Messi, 26, had won the award for the last four years, however Ronaldo had been viewed as the frontrunner this time after scoring 66 goals in 56 games in 2013 for club and country.

They included a sensational hat-trick for Portugal against Sweden in their World Cup qualifying play-off second leg, which sealed a place in the finals in Brazil.

"First of all, I have to say a great thanks to all of my team-mates with the club and the national team," Ronaldo said.

"Without all of their efforts this would not have been possible.

I am very happy, it is very difficult to win this award.

"Everybody that has been involved with me on a personal level, I have to thank.

My wife, my friends, my son.
It is a tremendously emotional moment.
All I can say is thank you to everybody that has been involved.

" Meanwhile, Angerer, 35, saved two penalties in Germany's 1-0 win over Norway in the 2013 European Championship final and was named player of the match.

"I have to say that I'm a little surprised, but very thankful," the Brisbane Roar goalkeeper said.

"You never get a success like this on your own.
I have to thank my team-mates and my goalkeeping coach who raised me to a level that I never thought I'd get to.

" German national manager Silvia Neid won the women's coach award, while Heynckes, who retired at the end of the last season after guiding Bayern Munich to a historic treble , said: "Maybe ten years ago, I wouldn't even have dreamt of this.

I am humbled and happy to be standing here.
The Ballon d'Or Prix d'Honneur was awarded to Brazil legend and three-time World Cup winner Pele .

"I promised to my family that I would not cry but I am emotional," he said.

"I got so many trophies and prizes but I was jealous of all of those guys who got the Ballon d'Or, which I couldn't get because I didn't play in Europe.

Now I thank God that I can complete my trophies at home.

" The Puskas Award for goal of the year went to Zlatan Ibrahimovic for his acrobatic strike for Sweden against England in November 2012.

Former president of the International Olympic Committee Jacques Rogge won the Fifa Presidential Award, while the Afghanistan Football Federation won the fair play accolade for the strides they have made advancing the game in the war-torn country.