TheNigerianVoice Online Radio Center

Mikel, Yaya, Emenike in Caf African player of the year list

By The Rainbow

Africa football’s governing body has announced the remaining candidates to win the prestigious individual trophy this year, with five Nigeria players making the cut

The Confederation of African Football have released the 25-man nominees for the 2013 African Player of the Year with title-holder Yaya Toure, Galatasaray star, Didier Drogba and Borussia Dortmund attacker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang among the candidates to win the individual award.

John Obi Mikel is accompanied by four Super Eagles teammates following the African champions' impressive 2013 campaign. They include Emmanuel Emenike, Sunday Mba, Vincent Enyeama and Ahmed Musa.

Liverpool star, Victor Moses is however the suprise exclusion from the list.

The winner will be announced at the Glo-CAF Awards Gala scheduled for Thursday, January 9, 2014 in Lagos, Nigeria.

Name Country Club  
Ahmed Musa Nigeria CSKA Moscow  
Asamoah Gyan Ghana Al Ain  
Dame N'Doye Senegal Locomotiv Moscow  
Didier Drogba Cote d'Ivoire Galatasaray  
Emmanuel Emenike Nigeria Fenerbahce  
Islam Slimani Algeria Sporting Lisbon  
John Mikel Obi Nigeria Chelsea  
Jonathan Pitroipa Burkina Faso Stade Rennais  

Kévin Constant Guinea AC Milan  
Kwadwo Asamoah Ghana Juventus  
Luís Carlos Almada Soares - (Platini) Cape Verde AC Omonia  

Mehdi Benattia Morocco AS Roma  
Mohamed Aboutrika Egypt  Al Ahly  
Mohamed Salah Egypt Basel FC  
Nicolas Nkoulou Cameroon Marseille  
Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang Gabon Borussia Dortmund,  

Ryan Isaac Mendes da Graça Cape Verde Lille  

Saladin Said Ethiopia Wadi Degla FC  
Seydou Keita Mali Dalian Aerbin F.C  
Sofiane Feghouli Algeria Valencia  
Sunday Mba Nigeria Warri Wolves  
Victor Wanyama Kenya Southampton FC  
Vincent Enyeama Nigeria Lille  
Yao Kouassi Gervais 'Gervinho' Cote d'Ivoire AS Roma  

Yaya Toure Cote d'Ivoire Manchester City