TheNigerianVoice Online Radio Center

Senate Names Committee Chairmen


ABUJA, September 15, (THEWILL) - The Senate Thursday constituted 56 standing committees with the creation of additional two committees; Millennium Development Goal (MDG) and Special Duties after over three months into 7th session. The committees were previously 54.

Of the 56, the opposition parties comprising the Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN) three, Congress for Progressive Change (CPC) one, (ANPP) four, All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA) one, and Labour Party (LP) two ( 11 in all) were handed Chairmanship of committees. 

Senate President David Mark, who announced the names of the chairmen, said the exercise would strengthen its oversight function and directed them to be steadfast in the performance of their legislative duties.

Statutorily, the Senate President announced himself as Chairman of the Selection Committee and his Deputy, Ike Ekweremadu, as Vice-Chairman.

The selection committee is made up of members of the Senate leadership including the opposition.

Senator Suleiman Adokwe (PDP Nasarawa) emerged Chairman, Senate Services Committee, responsible for procurement and management of Senate infrastructure and other welfare services.

Senator Ita Enang (PDP Akwa Ibom) emerged Chairman, Senate Rules and Business committee. He handled similar committee in the House of Representatives before he was elected senator.

Senator Enyinnaya Abaribe (PDP, Abia) is the new Senate spokesman as Chairman of the Media, Information and Public Affairs. He is taking over from former spokesman, Senator Ayogu Eze (PDP Enugu state) who was named Chairman of the Senate Committee on Works.

Senator Smart Adeyemi (PDP, Kogi) was named Chairman of the Senate Committee on Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Senator Olusola Saraki (PDP Kwara state), a former Governor of Kwara State emerged Chairman, Environment and Ecology Committee. Senator Danjuma Goje (PDP Gombe state), a former Gombe State governor was not as lucky as he was made Vice-Chairman of the Petroleum Downstream Committee. Senator Magnus Ngei Abe (Rivers state), a first time senator is the Chairman of Petroleum Committee (Down Stream).

Others are Senator Nkechi Nwogu (PDP Abia state), Chairman, Senate Committee on Gas, she chaired the banking committee in the last session; Andy Uba (PDP, Anambra State), Chairman, Senate Committee on Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC); Senator Philip Aduda (PDP, FCT) Chairman, Committee on Power, while Senator Emmanuel Paulker (PDP, Bayelsa) was named Chairman, Petroleum Committee upstream.

Also Senator James Manager (PDP, Delta state) emerged as Chairman, Committee on Niger Delta; George Thompson Sekibo (PDP, River state) Chairman, Committee on Defence (Army); and Senator Gilbert Nnaji (PDP, Enugu state) Chairman, Committee on Communications.

Uche Chukwumerije (PDP Abia) will continue to continue to Chair the Committee on Education while Gyang Daylop Dantong is the new Chairman, Committee on Health.

Senator Ahmed Maccido (PDP Sokoto state) is the new Chairman, Appropriation Committee, he was the vice chairman in the last session; Ayo Ademola Adeseun (ACN, Oyo) is the new Chairman, Senate Committee on Banking, Insurance and other financial Institution. He headed Appropriation committee in the House of Representatives in the last session.

Other Chairmen are; Aviation, Hope Uzodinwa; Capital Market, Abdu Yando; Trade and Investment, Odion Ugbesia; Co-opeartion and Integration in Africa and NEPAD, Simeon Ajibola; Culture and Tourism, Hassan Barata; Drugs, Nacrotic and Financial Crimes, Sen. Victor Lar; Employment, Labour and Productivity, Sen. Wilson Ake; Federal Character and Inter-governmental Affairs, Dahiru Kuta; Gas, Sen. Nkechi Nwaogu; Housing, Sen. Bukkar Abba Ibrahim; Industries, Sen. Esther Nenadi Usman; Interior, Sen. Atiku Bagudu; Inter-Parliamentary Affairs, Sen. Abdulaziz Usman; and Land & Transport, Sen. Sahabi Alhaji Ya’u.

Others are Local and Foreign Debt, Ehigie Uzamere; Marine Transport, Sen. Zainab Kure; National Identity and National Population, Maina Ma’aji Lawan; and Navy, Sen. Chris Anyanwu.

Good achievement required a lot of stress and discomfort.
By: Haybewise