TheNigerianVoice Online Radio Center

Buhari writes Senate to confirm INEC, NPC commissioners

By The Citizen

President Muhammadu Buhari has written to the Senate, seeking legislative approval of five commissioner-nominees for the National Population Commission and six commissioner-nominees for the Independent National Electoral Commission.

The President of the Senate, Dr. Bukola Saraki, read Buhari's separate letters on the nominations to the lawmakers during plenary on Thursday.

Buhari, in the letters, said seeking legislative approval for the nominations was in line with Section 154 (1) of the 1999 Constitution.

The INEC commissioners are Mohammed Haruna (North-Central); AVM Ahmed Tijani Mu'azu (retd.) (North-East); Abubakar Nahuche (North-West); Prof. Okechukwu Ibeano (South-East); May Agbamuche Mbu, (South-South); and Dr. Adekunle Ogunmola (South-West).

The NPC commissioners are Dr. Eyitayo Oyetunji (Oyo State), Patricia Iyaya (Benue), Benedict Ukpong (Akwa Ibom), Dr. Halu Bala (Kebbi) and Gloria Isofo (Bayelsa). - Punch.

Comments found to contain email addresses and web links will be rejected