TheNigerianVoice Online Radio Center

Workshop II of the Panel of the Wise on Strengthening Political Governance for Peace, Security and Stability in Africa, In the light of the popular uprisings in North Africa Tunis, Tunisia

By African Union Commission (AUC)
Listen to article

TUNIS, Tunisia, April 27, 2012/African Press Organization (APO)/ -- The Panel of the Wise of the African Union (AU), which is one of the pillars of the African Peace and Security Architecture (APSA), holds the Workshop on Strengthening Political Governance for Peace, Security and Stability in Africa in Tunis, Tunisia, from 27 to 29 April 2012, to be followed BY the 12th meeting of the Panel on 30 April 2012.

The workshop takes place as a follow up to the 275th meeting of the PSC, held in Addis Ababa, on 26 April 2011, which called upon the Panel to undertake a comprehensive review of the existing mechanisms relating to democratization and governance in Africa, in order to make concrete recommendations to the PSC. The PSC decision was taken against the background of the popular uprisings in North Africa, which, as stressed by the AU policy organs, provide a unique opportunity to deepen the democratization processes on the continent and ensure that the commitments made by Member States in numerous instruments of the AU are upheld and fully implemented.

The Tunis workshop, which is organized, in collaboration with the African Leadership Centre, is a follow up to the workshop held in Zanzibar in December 2011. It will deliberate on the following central issues: 1) the challenges and prospects of the North African revolutions; 2) the third wave of democratization in Africa and the challenges of managing transition and 3) the implementation of the AU and regional instruments on unconstitutional changes of government.

The workshop is being opened and attended by H.E Excellency President Mohamed Moncef Marzouki, the President of the Republic of Tunisia, high level personalities, including members of the Panel of the Wise, former Heads of State, Chairperson of the AU Commission, Representatives of the Regional Economic Communities (RECs) and other eminent personalities.