TheNigerianVoice Online Radio Center

Senate Approves Night Journeys For Commercial Vehicles

Click for Full Image Size
Listen to article

…Begins Screening of NDDC Board Members

ABUJA, October 25, (THEWILL) - The Senate Tuesday approved night journeys and movement of commercial vehicles on Nigerian highways at nights. It had rejected a motion to outlaw same a fortnight ago.

Also the Senate formerly unveiled the lists of new board members of the reconstituted Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC) sent to it by President Goodluck Jonathan, and ordered its committee on Niger Delta to commence screening of the members immediately.

The resolution to okay night travels was sequel to the adoption of the report of its joint committee on Police affairs, Federal Character and Inter-Governmental Affairs, which recommended the sustenance of night journeys and movement of commercial buses on Nigerian highways. It however asked the relevant agencies of government that play a key role in maintaining safety on highways to discharge their responsibilities effectively.

The report, which was laid before the Senate by its chairman, Senator Paulinus Igwe Nwagu (PDP, Ebonyi) and adopted by the lawmakers also recommended that the Nigerian police and the Federal Road Safety Commission (FRSC) should adequately be equipped to ensure proper rescue operations on Nigerian highways.

It also added that the Federal Ministry of Works should ensure that basic infrastructure on roads and highways such as highway lighting and road signs are put in place and properly maintained. While turning the down the recommendation directing the Nigerian police to provide armed police escorts to commercial vehicles for the purpose of night journeys, the lawmakers however accepted the suggestion that government should provide six towing vans to each of the six geo political zones.

Meanwhile, the list of new board members of the NDDC which was read by the Senate President, Senator David Mark was referred to the Committee on Niger Delta for screening. The Committee was directed to report back to plenary in two weeks. The new board members are to complete the tenure of the former members who were sacked by President Goodluck Jonathan on September 13, 2011.

THEWILL had exclusively reported that the list had been sent to the Senate and would be unveiled sometime this week.

Those listed for confirmation are Dr. Tarilah Tebepah (Bayelsa, Chairman), Mr. Edward Orubo (Bayelsa, member), Dr. Christian A. Obo (Rivers, Managing Director), Dr. Ibitamuno Aminigo (Rivers member), Chief Solomon Ogba (Delta, member), Mr. L. E. J. Konboye (Rivers, Executive Director, Finance and Admin), Engr. Imaobong Johnson (Akwa Ibom, member) and Engr. Edikan Eshet Eshett (Akwa Ibom, Executive Director Project).

Others are Barrister Peter Ezeobi (Imo, member), Domnic Aqua Edem (Cross Rivers, member), Barrister Aloysius Nwagboso, Abia, member), Mr. Omogbemi Oladele (Ondo, member) and Mr. Osahon Imaru (Edo, member).

Other members of the commission who are from the non-oil mineral producing states are Senator Garba Yakubu Lado (North West, member), Rima Shawulu Kwewum (North east, member) and Senator Tunde Ogbeha (North central, member). Also, Joe Jakpa made the list as the representative of the oil companies in the Niger Delta. He was nominated by the oil producing companies.

The appointments were made by Jonathan in accordance with section 2(1) of the NDDC Act of 2000, which provides for the establishment of the governing board, which shall comprise of a Chairman, one person each from the Niger Delta member states, three persons to represent the non-mineral producing states, one representative of the oil producing companies in the Niger Delta, nominated by the oil producing companies, one person each to represent the Federal Ministries of Finance and Environment, the MD of the commission and two executive directors.